Filing of nomination for outer constituency to end Mar 22


IMPHAL, March 15: The Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur has issued the official notification for Outer Manipur constituency of the 16th Lok Sabha election.

A statement issued by CEO, O Nabakishore, scheduled the last day of filing nomination on March 22 while scrutiny nomination has been scheduled on March 24.

The last date of withdrawal of candidature is scheduled on March 26.

As a whole the counting will be held on May 16 and the process of election shall be completed on or before May 28.

Meanwhile, 13 candidates are so far in the fray for the two MPs seats, I-inner Manipur Constituency and II-Outer Manipur Constituency.

The state will go to first phase of poll (inner constituency) on April 9 and 17 for outer constituency and the election Model code of conduct came into immediate effect since the announcement for the poll.

Of the total 13 five candidates are in the fray for the inner constituency set while 8 candidates are in the fray for outer constituency.

In the inner constituency, the INC has fielded its sitting MP, Dr T Meinya, BJP has fielded RK Ranjan a social activist, Indira Oinam as Independent candidate, AITC-Sarangthem Manaobi Singh, former Minister-Dr Nara for the Left and Secular Alliance, formed by 10 political parties excluding BJP and Congress.

In the outer constituency the BJP has fielded Prof Gangmumei Kamei, AITC Kim Gangte former MP, INC-Thangso Baite sitting MP, JD-U Len Gangte, CPI-ML Lamlalmoi, NPF Soso Lorho, Independent-former MP Manicharanamei, NCP-C Doungel former Minister.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here