Hill journalists union elects new office bearers


UKHRUL, September 23: The annual general body meeting of the Manipur Hill Journalists’ Union (MHJU) has on Tuesday unanimously elected all of its new office bearers for the term 2014-17 here in Ukhrul.

HA Sothing Shimray from Ukhrul is the new president of the union, while S Nengkhanlun from Churachandpur is the new general secretary.

Kh Benlian Vaiphei from Churachanpur and Bosco R from Senapati are the new vice president and new joint secretary while Timothy Zote from Churachandpur and Azonnah Zasper from Tamenglong have been elected as the new finance secretary and new treasurer of the union respectively.

All the new office bearers were subsequently installed with the election commission officials comprising of Aran Chihui, Alak and Pengmayung administering the oath of office to the new team.

Around 80 journalists from Tamenglong, Senapati, Churachandpur and Ukhrul participated in the general election held at Awontang Community Hall in Ukhrul district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here