Glittering end to 7th state film festival; Chief minister pledges Rs. 10 lakh award for Mary Kom


IMPHAL, Sep 20: Chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh lauded the talents and creativity of the youths of the state in various fields.
The chief minister said this as chief guest of the closing ceremony of the nine-day 7th Manipur State Film Festival held this evening  at the theatre complex of the Manipur Film Development Corporation, Palace Compound Imphal.
The chief minister said  many artistes and film makers of the state have been able to bring laurels and recognition to the state in various fields at both National and International stages making the state proud. He nudged the youths of the state to struggle a lot more in order to achieve recognition and competition at the international and national levels.
He added that as an encouragement to the film makers and artistes of the film industry, the government is thinking of setting up various grants, incentives and benefits for the improvement of modern infrastructures so that the film industry of the state could compete with the rest of the nation.
While stating that the Manipur film festival should try to induct films from the tribal dialects and languages from next year, he further said that the state is virtually a mini world and not just a mini India, with many different communities living in it.
He further added that the state government will soon start to take up actions to upgrade MFDC and furthermore steps have been taken up to upgrade the various tourist spots of the state to involve both outdoor and indoor shots of the film industry.
Touching upon the recent success of MC Mary Kom, he said Mary is a worthy daughter of Manipur.
He also pledged a sum of Rs.10 lakhs as reward to the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee on her successfully defending her world title for the fifth time.
Though the festival is the 7th edition of the state film festival, this is the first edition where competition for digital feature films were included.
Altogether 31 awards were handed out.
Besides appreciations from every watcher, film makers and artistes continued to applaud the decisions of the jury members of the festival which include Aribam Syam Sharma, Film Maker and Director, Pradip Phanjoubam, editor Imphal Free Press, Samik Banerjee, Shyamal Karmakar and Prof. Bimol Akoijam.
The digital feature film Nobap bagged the highest number of awards grossing eight titles including Best Feature Film, Best Story and Best Screenplay.
Raju Nong bagged the Best Actor award for his role in the film Bomb Blast, while the best actress award was received by S Manda for her film Kaboklei.
The best direction award for the digital feature film category went to Ningthouja Lancha for his direction of the film Mami Sami.
In the non Feature Film category, Mr India directed and produced by Paban Kumar bagged the best Non Feature Film Award while Roshni directed and produced by Bobby Wahengbam was adjudged the Best Non Feature Film on Sports/social issues   
The best Short Film Award Went to Cheng Khujok Ama directed by Menaka Thiyam and produced by Damayanti Thiyam.
The special Jury Award went to My Cousin’s Village which was directed by B Sanju and S Ratan.
Aribam Shyam Sharma was conferred with the first lifetime achievement award for his outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Manipuri cinema.
In the meantime, Dr RK Nimai, IAS, Commissioner Arts and Culture who presided over the closing ceremony this evening made his humble apprisal to the organising committee of such festival which will encourage many of the talented film makers and artistes of the state.

Enhanced by Zemanta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here