Sagolband United emerge champion of S Birendra football


IMPHAL, Sept 3: Sagolband United has emerged champion of the 11th S Birendra memorial Imphal West super division football league, 2010.
Sagolband United manage to become league leader by virtue of beating CYLC in the last league match played between the two team.

In the match played today at Lilong Chajing Kangjeibung, SU defeated CYLC by a solitary goal thereby collecting a full three points which put the team at the top of the overall points tally.

With today’s win against CYLC, SU tops the chart with 23 points followed by KSC which bagged second spot with 21 points. CYLC was one point behind KSC at 20 point and bagged third spot in the league.

Earlier, despite of one man down, SU managed to hold the lone goal scored through a E Sunil free kick in the 7th minute which found the net.

SU had one of its player (Umakanta) suspended and sent off in the 31st minute with a double yellow card. Umakanta received two yellow cards from match referee Kh Ranjit during the match due to which he was automatically suspended by the match referee.

Top two teams from the league will qualify for the next CCP meet football. Therefore SU and KSC will definitely qualify for the next CCP meet football tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here