Seven local scribes awarded on state information day


IMPHAL, Nov 1: Seven journalists of the state including a editor were honoured with Manipur State Journalist Awards 2010 by the government as part of the observation of Information and Public Relation Day 2010 today.

The awards included a memento, cash award of Rs 25 thousand and a shawl each. Editor of the Huiyen Lanpao (English) Brojendro Ningombam, was awarded with the best editor for his editorials on national integrition and communal harmony while the rest were awarded for their excellence in different fields of reportages.

The best reporter award are awarded to RK Sanatomba of Huiyen Lanpao daily for best reporting on sports and games while Inaomacha Salam also of Huiyen Lanpao was awarded for reporting on arts and culture.

RK Bullu Raj of Poknapham was awarded for the best reporting on health and hygiene while Laishram Samungou Singh of Sangai Express was awarded for his reporting on rural development. Wangkhemcha Dhamen of Kangleipak Meira and N Philip of ISTV cable network ahred award for reporting on women and child.

Speaking at the observation function, TN Haokip minister IPR announced that another award for the journalists will be added from next year onwards for the best reporting on science and technology. This will be a part of government’s initiative to encourage journalists, Haokip added.

He further said that lives of media persons in Manipur has become very risky due to the deteriorating law and order situation. If there is no media or press then there will be no meaning of democracy, Haokip observed and appeal all sections of the society not to give disturbance to the media.

L Lakher, IAS commissioner IPR, who was functional president said paid news create bad atmosphere in state as well in the country. He appelead state journalists to stay away from this as it would not bring any development. He also urged mediaperson to use the power and freedom of press in the right direction bringing development of the society.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here