1797 candidates in fray for Municipal Council, Nagar Panchayat election


IMPHAL, Dec 17: A total of 1797 aspirants are in fray for the ensuing elections to 8 Municipal Councils including Imphal Municipal Council and 18 Nagar Panchayats which is scheduled to held on January 3 next year.
On the last day of withdrawing of nomination papers yesterday, altogether 17 aspirant candidates withdrew their nomination papers.
A total of 2,19,616 voters including 1,06,839 male voters and 1,12,777 female voters will exercise their franchise on the ensuing election to the Municipal Councils and Nagar panchayats on January 3 next year.
Meanwhile, due to a controversy over allocation of reserved seats for ST in Andro Ward No. 2 Nagar Panchayat where there is not a single voter list of scheduled tribe, the election to the ward will not be conducted till further rectifications by the concerned authority, the official source added.
It may be mentioned that a total of 109 councilors from eight Municipal Councils, including IMC and 218 members of Ward Development Committee, 170 councilors for 18 Nagar Panchayats and 340 Ward Development Committee members of the Nagar Panchayats have been officially announced by the state chief election commission recently.
With the completion of all process for the allotment of seats and reservations for the said election as notified by the state chief election commission on December 4 last under the Manipur Municipal Community Participation Rules 2010.
It may be mentioned that the proposed election of Municipal Councils in the state which are to be held on January 3 includes the wards under the Imphal Municipality, Jirbam under Imphal East, Mayang Imphal under Imphal west,  Thoubal, Kakching, Nambol, Bishnupur, Ningthoukhong and Moirang Municipal Councils.
Further, election of the Nagar Panchayats of the state government will also be held simultaneously on January 3 next year to the areas of Andro, Lamlai in Imphal East, Sekmai, Lamshang, Lilong, Samurou, Wangoi, Thongkhong Luxmi Bazar in Imphal West district, Lilong,  Yairipok, Sikhong, Nongpok Sekmai, Heirok, Wangjing, Lamding, Kakching Khunou, Sugunu in Thoubal district, Oinam, Kwakta and Kumbi in Bishnupur district.
As per the official election notification issued by the state election commission, the last date for submission of nomination was fixed on December 13, and the scrutiny on December 14  and the last date for withdrawal of the nomination paper on December 16.
The date of poll has been fixed on January 3 next year, which will start from 8am till 4pm in every polling stations.
The official notification also said, date of repoll, if any, will be on January 5 and  counting of votes will be done on January 7.
According an official source from the state election department, as done in previous year the election of the local bodies to the state will not be provided facilities of the Electronic Voting Machines in the proposed election in the state which is scheduled held on January 3 next year, the official source added.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here