CCpur DC Jacintha Lazarus given national award


From Kaimuanthang
LAMKA, Feb 4: The district of Churachandpur was awarded the National Award for the best performing district under Mahatma Gandhi NREGA in the category of ` Community Mobilisation and Participation for Livelihood Generation ` 2009-10 by the Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India on February 2, 2011 in a solemn function held at Vigyan Bhawan in commemoration of fifth year completion of the MNREGA
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and the UPA chairperson presented the award to the DC/CCpur Jacintha Lazurus IAS in the gracious presence of Hon`ble minister for Rural Development Vilasrao Deshmukh at Vigyan Bhawan New Delhi which consist a scroll of honour and trophy.
Also present at the award giving ceremony include Pradip Kumar Jain ` Aditya `, Shisir Kumar Adhikari besides many other distinguished personalities of the country.
The district of Ccpur under the able guidance of its DC has been taking up many exemplary initiatives earlier in exploiting new grounds of converging of the MNREGS to afforestation and involved the masses in its conservation.
In the process the services of 11,478 job card holders drawn from 64 villages have been procured in planting of saplings at the catchment areas of Lanva river where 10 chiefs signed an agreement with the government to not cut down trees in this areas stated a source further noting that this initiatives generated an un-match awareness among the masses towards conservation of forest and restoration of catchment areas.
The source further pointed out that unlike before alternative farming method has been introduced into the district through plantation of rubber instead of Jhum farming under the MNREGS thus making positive changes into the life of many people.
It may be pointed out that out of 635 districts all over the country 10 districts were identified and then selected based on their performances by the ministry of rural development out of which Churachanpur and the north Sikkim were among the awarded districts.
Mention may be made that 20 members from the districts of Bishnupur, Senapati, Ukhrul and Ccpur comprised the team from the state who attended the award ceremony. Sources said that the state government is planning to acknowledge the team by providing individual certificate of honours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here