Home News Headlines

Konthoujam bye-election goes off peacefully; poll turnout reaches remarkable 90.77 percent

Womenfolk queing up with their voter Id cards to cast their votes during the Konthoujam Bye polls. 2011-02-15 | by : IFP Photo
Womenfolk queing up with their voter Id cards to cast their votes during the Konthoujam Bye polls. 2011-02-15 | by : IFP Photo

IMPHAL, Feb 14: The bye-election of Konthoujam assembly constituency went off peacefully today in all 28 polling stations of the constituency with no report of violence or any other untoward incident.

The poll turnout at the election reached remarkable 90.77 percent.

Altogether 22, 331 voters out of the total 24, 601 voters of the constituency exercised their franchise to elect a representative from amongst the three keen contenders, namely Dr. S. Ranjan of INC, K. Sharat of Trinamool Congress and an independent candidate Kh. Ranjit.

Heavy security measures were taken up by the Election Commission of India to ensure free and fair poll in all 28 polling stations of Konthoujam which were earlier announced as sensitive and hypersensitive. Large numbers of central paramilitary (CRPF) personnel along with state security forces were deployed in every nook and corner of the constituency.

The poll started from 7 am in the morning and continued till 3 pm in the afternoon. In most of the polling stations the voters were lined up in long queues waiting for their turn to cast votes.

The turnout in most of the polling stations till 12 noon was below 50 percent. However, large numbers of voters thronged at the polling stations after 12 noon and the security personnel had a tough time minding the voters.

The situation in all the polling stations of the constituency was calm and smooth with security personnel on close vigil in and around the polling stations.

The number of voters who turned out at 18/1 Moidangpok Khullen Part-I was 886 out of 955; 18/2 Moidangpok Khullen Part-II was 690 out of 756; 18/3 Moidangpok Khunou was 961 out of 1062; 18/4 Khumbong was 703 out of 843; 18/5 Khumbong was 689 out of 726; 18/6 Ngairangbam was 683 out of 733; 18/7 Ngairangbam was 775 out of 811; 18/8 Sagoltongba was 772 out of 780; 18/9 Sagoltongba was 746 out of 796; 18/10 Yurembam was 870 out of 972; 18/11 Yurembam Awang Leikai was 1136 out of 1239; 18/12 Konthoujam was 508 out of 573; 18/13 Konthoujam Mamang Leikai was 862 out of 941; 18/14 Konthoujam Maning Leikai was 1109 out of 1235;18/15 Khaidem was 1020 out of 1133; 18/16 Khabi was 603 out of 651; 18/17 Khabi was 569 out of 602; 18/18 Yarou Bomdiar was 944 out of 1014; 18/19 Heikrujam was 636 out of 728; 18/20 Heikrujam was 630 out of 673; 18/21 Maisnam Kamong was 887 out of 1003; 18/22 Maisnam Kamong was 653 out of 727; 18/23 Kha Jiri Part-I was 654 out of 702; 18/24 Kha Jiri Part-II was 701 out of 800; 18/25 Awang Jiri was 845 out of 924; 18/26 Awang Phoijing Part-I was 909 out of 1041; 18/27 Awang Phoijing Part-II was 989 out of 1109; and 18/28 Langoijam Mamang Leikai was 948 out of 1072.

Moreover, there has been no complaint from the side of any of the three candidates regarding misconduct or foul play during the poll.

The counting for the bye-election will be held on February 17 from 7 am onwards at the office of Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version