Home News Headlines

Fourth meeting of court at Manipur University held

IMPHAL, April 18: The fourth meeting of the Court of Manipur University was held today with Prof. HNK Sarma, acting vice chancellor in the chair in the court hall of the university.
Delivering a speech, HNK Sarma announced that all the six schools of studies have been performing exceedingly well including centre for Manipur studies, Myanmar studies, Study of social Inclusive and exclusive policy, human rights and duties education women’s studies, the academic staff college and the educational multimedia research centre.
The departments of Manipuri, Chemistry and Physics have been receiving grants under the Special Assistance Programme of the UGC and Department of Life Sciences has been recognized by the UGC as  a centre for advanced studies in life sciences apart from giving funds for PG diploma in departments of Phsics, Earth Sciences, Biochemistry etc, he further stated.
He stated that the University received Rs. 23.83 crores during 2008-09 as block grants from the UGC and generated  a reserve of Rs. 3.22 crores. The estimated block grants required from the UGC is Rs. 45.13 crores for 2009-2010 and Rs. 35.67 crores for Rs. 2010-11.
 The meeting discussed and passed the proceedings of 3rd meeting of court held on April 22 last year and the proceedings of the executive council held between May 2010 and April 2011 which was presented by G. Jitendra Sharma, Dean, School of Life Sciences to the executive council.
The Annual Report for the year 2009-2010 was presented elaborately by S. Sanatombi Singha, Dean, School of Humanities. The meeting also confirmed the annual account for the year 2009-2010 and the annual report for the year 2008-2009, reports which was presented by Prof. Amar Yumnam, Dean, School of Social Sciences. The budget estimates for the year 2010-2011 were also  confirmed after discussion in the meeting, reports which was presented by Prof. W. Nimai Singh, Dean, School of Human and Environmental Sciences.
A one minute silence was also observed at the beginning of the meeting held today on the demise of Prof. Shyamcharan Singh, Prof. Th. Bhagirath, Prof. CH,. Manihar Singh (retd), Md. Rashid Khan (SO) and other employees N. Kunjo Singh, S. Sunil Singh, M. Mocha Meetei and W. Nimai Singh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version