Campagning for IMC concludes; 72 candidates to fight it out on May 25


IMPHAL, May 23: Complying with the official directive from the state Chief Election Officer, all candidates who are in fray for the ensuing Imphal Municipal Council election, have concluded their campaigning this evening at 4 pm.
The IMC election which will elect 27 councilors and two Ward members each is scheduled to be held on May 25.
Aspiring candidates for both the councilors and ward members of the 27 wards under Imphal Municipal Council had intensified their election campaigns with door to door visits after the announcement of the election proceedings by the state Chief Election officer on April 20 last month.
As per the official record a total of 72 candidates are contesting the election to the 27 wards of the Imphal Municipal council.
On the other hand the state government has completed its preparation for the smooth conduct of the election to the 27 wards by completing the assessment which are required in terms of manpower and security for the successful holding of the election.
According to the report, after proper assessment of the wards in Imphal West district, it has been found that of the 20 wards and 175 polling stations in Imphal West district 26 Polling Stations have been categorized as Hyper Sensitive polling stations, 77 Polling Station as sensitive Polling Stations while the remaining Polling Station are counted as normal.
In the meantime, the state government considering the intensity of election related crimes which are expected to rise during the eve of the poll, the state government has decided to deploy 12 state forces including six armed personnel headed by an Inspector or SI along with four VDFs and two women police constable or women home guards each at the hyper sensitive polling stations; 10 armed police personnel headed by  Inspector or SI along with three VDFs along with two women police constables or home guards in the sensitive polling stations while there will be provision of seven personnel including three armed and two unarmed VDFs and two women personnel either from Police or Home Guard in normal poling stations.
The official source further maintained that for the smooth conduct of the Imphal Municipal Council election on May 25, the entire area of Imphal West district has been divided into 10 separate security zones and each zone will be manned by a team of officials at the rank of DSP by establishing 10 mobile units under the command of one Sub Inspector.
On the other hand, an official briefing have already been given to all concerned SPs of the valley districts of the state by the DGP Manipur very recently to ensure that the official directives for security arrangement in connection to the May 25 election is properly maintained and the concerned SPs of the valley districts have also given their official directives to all OCs concerned of Police stations and Outposts to made available the security personnel from the concerned PS and OP.
It may be mentioned that with the inaction of Manipur Municipality Act 1994, in the state the election of Municipal Councils in the state was first held during 1995 and followed in 2001, 2006 and the ensuing election will be the fourth election of the Municipal Council during which election of additional two members of Ward Development Committee for every wards will be held along with the election of councilors of the ward as per a recently enacted rule of the state for the proper implementation of development schemes and projects in the wards.
On the other hand, in view of the ensuing election to the Imphal Municipal Council Election Returning Officer (ERO), SDO Imphal West Radharani Mutum has made official notification that, the Final Electoral Rolls for Imphal Municipal Council from Ward No. 1 to 17, 24, 25, and 27 prepared in accordance with the Manipur Municipalities (Election of Councillors) Rules, 1994 have been published and a copy thereof is available for inspection at the SDO office during office hours, the official order added.
Election code of conduct would be followed in both districts of Imphal East and Imphal West following the official issuance of the election notification for the election to the 27 wards of the Imphal Municipal Councils today by the State Chief Electoral officer Th. Chitra Devi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here