Sanjoy wins Kh Anou Chess title


IMPHAL, June 11: The 21st edition of the Kh Anou state level Chess tournament has champion in Kh Sanjoy, who is a former champion of the Telegraph School Chess tournament. 

The tournament is being organised by the Kwakeithel Chess Club under the aegis of the Manipur Chess Association. Prizes to winners and participants were distributed today by health and family welfare minister L Jayentakumar.

Earlier, at the end of the last round, Sanjoy and defending champion Apollosana were tied at the same point at 6 and same progressive score at 25.

The winner had to be decided finally by lot in which Sanjoy emerged champion for the first time.

In the last round match played today both Sanjoy and Apollosana won their matches and earned full points.

Apollosana defeated defeated his arch rival S Premjit in Guioco Piano game while Sanjoy defeated Anand Sharma on time pressure.

At another table, rated player RK Bhogen defeated N Rajeshwar to get full point.

For the 3rd and 4th positions, RK Bhogen and Bangkim were in contention as both were tied at 5.5 points with same progressive score of 22.5. Their position also had to be decided by lot and Bangkim took the third spot and Bhogen the 4th.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here