Reconciled Naga rebel groups agree to form single govt


DIMAPUR, Aug 26 (NNN): The three Naga underground groups–NSCN-IM, NNC and NSCN-Khole/Kitovi has agreed upon in “principle” today to work towards in the formation of their single government.

At present these three underground outfits have their respective government. The NSCN-IM has called their government as Government of People`s Republic of Nagalim (GPRN). The NSCN-Khole/Kitovi group`s government name also the same with the former except the last term. One is Nagalim and the other is Nagaland. The NNC calls their government as Federal Government of Nagaland (FGN).

On Friday, top leaders of the three Naga outfits signed a `concordant` to work towards the formation of the single underground government which has been proposed to call “Naga National Government”.

Today`s development came following the series of meetings including that of intense prayer programmes convened by Forum for Naga Reconciliation (FNR) in Dimapur.

Meanwhile, Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio welcomes the signing of the `concordant`, which was signed in Dimapur today.

“The top Naga underground leaders have reconciled on the basis of historical and political rights and have agreed that Nagas are one,” said the chief minister in a statement made available to Newmai News Network tonight.

In pursuance of this agreement, they have decided to work towards formation of one Naga national government. The signing of this document is historic and deserves to be welcomed by all sections of Naga society and adherence to it will lead to unity, understanding and oneness of all Nagas, said Neiphiu Rio, adding,  “The state government in its role as active facilitator welcomes and extends its supports to all efforts aimed at unity of Nagas as oneness of Nagas will pave the way for an honorable political solution that will bring permanent peace.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here