Tangkhul body demands exclusion of 34 villages from Sadar Hills


IMPHAL, Sep 15: Tangkhul Naga Aze Longphang, Kasom Khullen, Ukhrul district has submitted a memorandum to the state chief secretary today demanding the exclusion of 34 villages under the jurisdiction of South Naga Aze Longphang in the creation of Sadar Hills District.

The memorandum of Tangkhul body further drawn the attention of the state government that half year Assembly of the Tangkhul Naga Aze Longphang which was held yesterday at Imphal resolved consensusly that, the 34 villages including Keikao, Tangkhul Khullen, Somrei, Soraland, Horton, Komlaching, Phungton, Irong Ngambikhong (Aze), Irong Tangkhul, Sada Khunbi, Lungthar, Kharan, Heinganglok, Leihaopokpi, TC Pokpi (Tangchingpokpi), Risophung, Leishiphung, Island, Leikoiching,  Moirangpan/Sopleng, Happyland, Tongkoi, Silent, New Salem, Ngarumphung, Peaceland, South Loushing, Kaprang,  Leishamlok,  Poiron, Lembakhul, Ngaranphung, Tamaram and Samam village are not to be included in the the prevailing confrontation/conflict on the demand for districthood by the demand committee on the ground that, these villagers belongs to Tangkhul communittee and they have proximity to Ukhrul. As these villagers could reach Ukhrul very easily, their language is Tangkhul dialect and they could profess their festival in all occasions a mong their community and if they are merged with other tribes, they will be humiliated like anything.

From the point of view of boundary re-organisation the mentioned villages are quite communicable to only Ukhrul district, and the villagers of these 34 villages have no option rather than launching of another strike if their villages are clubbed to Sadar Hills district, because it is much against their will, the memorandum of the Tangkhul Naga Aze Longphang added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here