Make media a free zone, don`t disturb media, media is for all, IPR minister says at National press day observation


IMPHAL, November 16: The Directorate of Information & Public Relations, government of Manipur today observed the National Press Day 2011 and also distributed the Manipur Journalist Awards, 2011.

A function was held at the Manipur Press Club today with IPR minister TN Haokip, commissioner IPR, L Lakher and president AMWJU A Mobi Singh as the chief guest, guest of honour and president respectively.

Speaking at the celebration, minister TN Haokip observed that the introduction of Best Journalist Award in the field of Science and Technology and sports in the Manipur Journalist Award will encourage the journalist community of the state.

He further appreciated the officials of DIPR for introducing the two awards and further added that even though the press day has been observed every year, this year’s observation hold a special place because of the introduction of the two awards.

He further observed that this year’s recipients of the awards in various categories will further help in bringing quality reporting in the field.

While appreciating the handling of crisis situation by the journalist community in the state, the minister further observed that special focus should be given in reporting the ills of the society and developmental works taken up in the state.

The minister further noted that it is unfortunate that various organizations both legal and illegal are creating disturbances to the workings of media houses in the state without considering the fact that the media houses are working for the benefit of the people selflessly.

He further appealed to the whole society “Set media a free zone, don’t disturb media, media is for you and all”.

Prior to addressing the gathering the minister had distributed the Manipur Journalist Awards, 2011 to the winners.

The winners of the awards in various categories include Amukhomba Nangbam and Ningthoujam Sanajaoba both of Hueiyen Lanpao daily received the award in the newly introduced Science & Technology and reporting on development work in rural areas respectively; Sarangthem Johnson of Poknapham receive the award for reporting on Assembly news.

The award recipients also include RK Manisana, Laishram Keshonanda, Sorenshangbam Sonia, Ngashekpam Liklaileima, Khoirom Loyalakpa.

Other main highlights of the celebration include a symposium on the topic ‘media as an instrument of public acountability’ with advocate Khaidem Mani acting as the moderator. Professor Amar Yumnam, department of Economics, MU, Seram Mangi Singh, retd. news editor AIR Imphal and Rupachandra Yumnam editor ISTV news presented their papers on the topic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here