MLA Borajao passes away; with him the current Assembly has lost seven MLAs

CM O Ibobi laying a wreath at the coffin of the dead Sekmai MLA Borajao at the Manipur State Assembly compound on Sunday.

IMPHAL, December 4: CPI MLA of Sekmai assembly constituency, Dr Heikham Borajao, passed away early this morning at the Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Medical Sciences (JNIMS), following a sudden heart attack.

The 9th term of the Manipur Legislative Assembly has inked a slot in the history of Manipur Politics with the maximum numbers of sitting MLA’s death in a single term.

Family sources informed that the Borajao who was at his official quarter, was in good shape till yesterday, however the MLA suffered a sudden stroke in the wee hours today and was immediately rushed to JNIMS.

He was kept at the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) however succumbed to his sickness at around 4:30 am this morning.

The mortal remains of the Sekmai MLA was first taken to the CPI party office at Irawat Bhawan, BT road where party leaders including its state secretary, Dr. M Nara and the lone CPI minister in the state cabinet, Ph. Parijat, paid befitting honours to the dead MLA.

Later the dead body of the late MLA was taken to the Manipur Legislative Assembly where both the ruling and opposition MLAs, minister including the speaker and state Chief Minister paid befitting floral tributes.

From the assembly, the late MLA was taken to his birth place at Khurkhul Mamang Leikai and his last rite was performed there.

Dr. Heikham Borajao is a first time MLA and was elected to the 9th Manipur Legislative Assembly with a CPI ticket.

Before entering politics, the MLA was a medical doctor (MBBS) by profession.

He was born on March 1, 1949 and married to Heikham Ongbi Shantanu Devi.

MLA Borajao was 62 and survived by a wife and five children including three sons and two daughters.

With the demise of the CPI MLA, altogether 7 MLA including a sitting speaker have expired during this term alone.

NCP MLA of Khudrakpam assembly constituency, Th. Nabakumar was the first MLA to expire during the second tenure of the SPF government in power in the state. He expired on April, 26, 2007.

The other five MLAs who expired during this term are Congress MLA of Moirang a/c M. Munindro, Congress MLA Yaiskul a/c Elangbam Kunjakeshor, Congress MLA and speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly from Konthoujam a/c Sapam Budhichandra, Congress MLA of Yaiskul a/c, Elangbam Suraj and independent MLA of Phungyar a/c, Wungnaoshang Keishing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here