NEROCA lifts CC Meet trophy taking sweet revenge against AR Soccer


IMPHAL, Dec 11: NEROCA, Sangakpham defeated Assam Rifles Soccer by 4-2 via tie-breaker in the final match of 55th CC Meet Football Tournament played today at Khuman Lampak Main Stadium.

NEROCA has lifted the trophy of this prestigious football tournament for the second time. The team first became the champion of CC Meet in 2000 by defeating SSB. It has played the final four times in 2000, 2002, 2008 and 2011.

In today’s final match, both teams could not score any goal till the end of first half. NEROCA could have more ball possession.

Later in the second half, M Kamei opened the goal account for Assam Rifles by scoring a goal in 72nd minute off a free kick.

Just after two minutes, the goal of Assam Rifles was equalized by a goal scored by H Chakravarty in 74th minute off a free kick taken by Ashok.

Both teams were tied in 1-1 draw till the end of normal time. No further goal was scored even in the extra-time.

Later, NEROCA defeated Assam Rifles Soccer by 3-1 in the tie-breaker.

The goals for NEROCA were scored by M Ashok, Kh Satish and Th Roshan while Ajit Kumar scored the solitary goal for Assam Rifles.

Kh Satish and Md Sohail Shah of NEROCA and Devendra, K Naoba and M Kamei of Assam Rifles were booked yellow cards during the match.

It may be mentioned that the Assam Rifles defeated NEROCA in tie-breaker in the final match of CC Meet in 2008.

The champion NEROCA received a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000 along with a trophy while the runner-up Assam Rifles Soccer received Rs. 50,000 with a trophy.

Ng Tomarjit of NEROCA, M Kamei and L Thoithoiba of Assam Rifles Soccer were adjudged as the man of the match, best striker and best mid-fielder of the final match respectively.

Kanta of MPSC, Thangkhosem of USA and Gouro of AIM were the top scorers of the tournament.

L Premkumar of NISA and Thangkhosem Haokip of USA were presented trophies for best goalkeeper and best player of the tournament respectively.

S Premkanta of SSU was presented Oja Kamini Kumar Memorial Trophy for best coach while L Ajitkumar Meetei was presented Oja Benudhar Memorial Trophy for best referee.

NEROCA was presented the trophy for fair play in the tournament.

L Nabachandra of NISA and Th Tababi of MPSC were named the best footballer of the year for men and women respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here