We are working closely with the state administration to ensure rehabilitation packages in due time, Maj Gen tells surrendered militants


IMPHAL, December 24: Soon after 57 militants of 17 different UG groups had laid down their arms of December 15, another 21 more militants of three UG groups surrendered to the Army today along with 21 arms of different types.

Of the 21 militants who laid down their arms today, four of them belong to the NNC, 16 of the NSCN(K) Unification while one belong to the PREPAK. The weapons deposited by the militants included six rifles, two sten guns, 10 pistols one revolver and two carbines.

All the surrendered militants were paraded before the media and the weapons brought by them were exhibited during a ‘Home Coming’ ceremony organised by the Army’s Red Shield Division at Leimakhong today.

The ceremony was attended among others by GOC 57 Mountain Division, Maj Gen Binoy Poonnen, DGP Manipur Y Joykumar Singh, Brig KB Chand, Deputy GOC, Brig VS Ranade, CO 27 Sector AR.

Speaking on the occasion, Maj Gen Poonnen said 3 Mahar of 44 Mountain Brigade and 39 AR of the 27 Sector AR made the efforts to motivate the militants to lay down their arms.

The Maj Gen further praised the cadres for their courage and wisdon in choosing to become responsible citizens and to contribute to the progressive realization of people’s peace aspiration.

He assured them of all assistance in their rehabilitation process and added that the security forces on their part will encourage all such endeavours by all insurgent groups, both collectively and individually and shall continue to act as a facilitator in their rehabilitation and hence in their emergence as responsible citizens of the state.

He further added, “We are working closely with the state administration to ensure that they receive their monthly sustenance allowances and packages in due time.

The state DGP Y Joykumar Singh also welcome the surrendered militants into the national mainstream and on behalf of the government assured them and their families an honourable rehabilitation at the earliest.

The cadres of the NNC who surrendered today have been identified a ss/s cpl Muri Toshi, s/s pvt Toji Bongso, s/s pvt Rejomong Throngjang and s/s pvt Shekiupa Lathrong.

The NSCN(K) Unification cadres who laid down their arms have been identified as s/s sgt Mosa, s/s sgt Nakchingsonba, s/s l/cpl Sungba Chang, s/s pvt David Sochingba Chang, s/s pvt Limayanger, s/s pvt Wapong Chang, s/s pvt Thungdi Chang, s/s pvt Chingmak Chang, s/s pvt Mosha Mongko Chang, s/s pvt Mongko Sekum Chang, s/s pvt John Chang, s/s pvt  H Lemba Chang, s/s pvt H Lemba Chang, s/s lt Chipong Chang alias Abong, s/s pvt Nabam Chang, s/s pvt Akong Chang, s/s pvt Wongto Chang.

The lone PREPAK cadre who surrendered was identified as s/s pvt Sikham Abung alias Phamdon s/o Bosan Meitei.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here