CorCom releases list of Cong workers, police seize document


The Imphal West CDOs conducting search operationS in connection with the forth-coming general election at Thangal Bazar area.
IMPHAL, January 14: Coming out strongly against congress workers, the CorCom have listed several names which encompasses three assembly constituencies of the state,i.e. Thoubal a/c, Sugnu a/c and Heingang a/c.

A press release by CorCom detailing the credentials of the Congress workers of the three constituencies, 192 workers of Thoubal which is the Chief Minister O Ibobi’s constituency,138 of Heingang which is of minister N Biren Singh and 50 persons from Sugnu of works minister K Ranjit Singh was released to the press for publication.

However, policer got the wind of it and a team of policement visited newspaper offices the press to prevent the publication of the list.

The IFP’s copy of the press release was also seized by the policemen.

The said police team also intimated that the list of Congress candidates have been confiscated from other media houses and should not be published as it would amount to a breach of law.

It may be recalled the CorCom swore to dislodge the Congress from state power and has been doing everything to prevent Congress candidates from campaigning.

It had also issued stern warning yesterday that it would even award capital punishment to Congress workers who do not heed the committee’s warning.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here