Congress secures absolute majority with 42 seats


Cheerful Okram Ibobi shows victory sign to his supporters after winning the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly election from Thoubal assembly constituency on Tuesday.
IMPHAL,Mar 6: Leaving behind the opposition parties in the dust, the Congress party has made a record landslide victory by bagging 42 seats out of 60 total seats in the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly.

The congress got the majority and representative political parties of the Peoples Democratic Alliance (PDA) namely All India Trinamool Congress became the runners up by bagging 7 seats. Manipur State Congress Party got 5 seats and the Naga Peoples Party trailed behind at 4 seats.The lone Lok Jana Shakti party candidate, Karam Shyam Singh opened an account for the first time in the state for Langthabal assembly constituency by beating his veteran MPP candidate candidate, Okram Joy Singh.Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won a single seat for Keisamthong assembly constituency.

The election also saw three women candidates being elected for the first time in the state.Nemcha Kipgen representing MSCP won the seat for Kangpokpi,Akoijam Mirabai Devi of the INC bagged the seat for Patsoi assembly constituency beating Trinamool candidate ,MLA Sapam Kunjakeswar Singh.

Among the political heavyweights who lost in the fray, Okram Joy of MPP who has contested for seven consecutive terms and won for six terms lost to new comer Karam Shyam representing the Lok Jana Shakti party. Opposition leader and state president of NCP, Radhabinod Koijam similarly also lost to Kh Joykishan of Trinamool Congress. Former agriculture minister P Parijat of CPI of Lamlai constituency also lost to Ksh Biren Singh of INC. Health minister L Jayenta Kumar also lost to his NCP rival candidate L Ibomcha. Ibomcha is also the lone successful candidate of the NCP. Education minister DD Thaisii of Karong lost to Dr. V Alexander Pao of the NPF. MOBC minister Md Allaudin also lost to newcomer K Thamarjit Singh of MSCP for Keirao constituency. Deputy chairman of State Planning Board, MLA Bijoy Koijam ,PDA chairman Kh Loken,MLA E Dwijamani, chairman of Manipur Pollution control board also lost to their rivals.

The 10th Manipur Assembly Elections saw 25 new candidates elected in the assembly constituencies of the 9 districts.

After getting statehood in 1972, this is the very first time that a political party has crossed the forty plus margin.

Notably, none of the candidate belonging to Manipur People’s Party, CPI and BJP could win in this election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here