IYA crown new champions in Kakching super division


IMPHAL, July 28: IYA, Kakching was crowned the champions of the Kakching Super division Football League Tournament at the DSA ground Kakching today.

The tournament with six clubs participating had started since July 9 at the ground organized by the DSA, Kakching.

IYA with 15 points from five games without a loss became the champions.

In the last match of the tournament, FSC, Kakching defeated UCC, Kakching by 2-1.

Loman of UCC scored the first goal of the match in the 24th minute of the match, however an own goal from Ksh Pakpa of the club help FSC equalised the score in the 45th minute.

Naobi scored another for his team in the 56th minute ending the match with a 2-1 win for FSC.

FSC with nine points at the end of today’s match is at the third spot on the points tally.

Meanwhile, AVO, Kakching with 12 points in the five matches became the runners up.

N Bikas and Th Chandrakumar both of AVO were adjudged the best defender and the best goalkeeper of the tournament respectively.

Th Anit of IYA with eight goals in five appearances became the top scorer of the tournament, while Dhanakumar of the same club was adjudged the man of the tournament.

Runners up AVO also received the fair play prize while K Brojen was adjudged the best referee.

UCC and SESU with 2 and 1 points respectively will be relegated from the division.

Meanwhile, YSA is at the fourth spot with four points.

The closing function of the tournament was attended by Wabagai MLA Fajur Rahim, Kakching Municipal Council, chairperson, M Inakhunbi Devi and All Manipur Football Association Assn, Imphal, secretary L Ranjit Roy as chief guest, president and guest of honour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here