Laksmikanta and Rishikesh bags gold in the journalist shooting competition


IMPHAL, July 26: L Laksmikanta of DDK Imphal and W Rishikesh of Hueiyen Lanpao stood 1st positions in the 25 m pistol and 50 m rifle events respectively, while O Manabir Singh of Imphal Free Press was adjusted with 3rd position in the 25 m pistol event.

The 3rd Kangjam Sorojini Memorial Journalist Shooting Competition organized by Sorojini Memorial Trust in collaboration with Celebrity Media Group & Presto Wonders Imphal which was commence on July 24 concluded today.

The competition was participated by 30 journalists from various media houses of the state.

The concluding day was attended Dronacharya Awardee L Ibomcha Singh, boxing coach, Editor of Poknapham daily A Robindro Sharma, Social Activist S Ronel and Proprietor of Presto Wonders Imphal Th Dayananda as the chief guest, president and guests of honour respectively. They also distributed the prizes to the winners.

In the 25 m pistol event, L Laksmikanta of DDK Imphal took 1st position scoring 74 points out of 100, W Leishemba Meitei of DDK Imphal took 2nd position scoring 72points, O Manabir Singh of IFP and SH Goutam Sharma of Poknapham took third position scoring the same points of 68.

The 25 m pistol event was participated by 23 journalists including one female journalist.

Meanwhile, in the 50 m rifle event, W Rishikesh of Hueiyen Lanpao took 1st position scoring 42 points out of 100, W Leishemba Meitei of DDK Imphal took second position scoring 41 points and Y Rupachandra of ISTV took third position scoring 40 points. The 50 m rifle event was also participated by 23 journalists.   

L Ibomcha, who attended the concluding function as the chief guest, wishes the five Olympians of the state to win medals at the London Olympic 2012, which will commence from tomorrow. He also appealed to the general public to pray for their win. He also believe that in the next Olympic there will be more participants from the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here