Meritorious students of Yaiskul feted


IMPHAL, July 15: Planning and Progressive Committee Ward No 20 of 14-Yaiskul a/c today organized a meritorious award distribution ceremony 2012 at the Multipurpose Community Hall, Wangkhei Keithel Ashangbi, Imphal East.

The ceremony was attended by local MLA, Elangbam Chand Singh; PPC president Athokpam Tomba Singh; retd MPSC chairman and senior citizen forum Imphal East president Y Rasheshyam Singh, BOSEM retd chairman and MPSC member S Kunjabihari Singh and ward no 20 Yaiskul a/c councillor L Tombi Devi as chief guest, president and guests of honour respectively.

A total of 57 meritorious students were awarded today with a certificate and a memento each.

During the function, Radheshyam Singh said that in past getting a job was easy but today in this competitive world one has to be highly educated to get a decent job so students must strive hard in their studies.

S Kunjabihari Singh in his speech said that ward no 20 has only one higher secondary school.

Further he added that the quality of students deteriorated in the state after the conversion of private schools to govt schools.

Guest of honour L Tombi Devi said people should encourage families under the BPL who send their children to school for studies.

She added that there are certain well to do families that have acquired BPL cards and taking advantage of various schemes meant only for the BPL families.

Meanwhile, local MLA, E Chand said that Manipur has no resources but it has produced many meritorious students.

He added that though Yaiskul a/c doesn’t have many good educational institutions, he is always ready to discuss and sort out sustainable plans to develop and promote educational institutes in the constituencies.

Meanwhile, the Allied Athletic and Social for Hire Advance Club, Khundrakpam Makha Leikai organized a felicitation programme of meritorious class X and XII students of the area at the club ground today.

The function was attended by 4 Khundrakpam Zilla Parishad member Usham Indrakumar, Khundrakpam GP Pradhan, Khaidem Modhubala as chief guest and president, respectively.

Speaking at the function, Indrakumar lauded the club for organizing such a function and added that such endeavour will encourage the students to achieve more in life.

He further expressed his believe that the students of the area will bring laurels to the locality and the state in the future.

Altogether 51 students were felicitated during the programme.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here