Home News Headlines

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards Announced

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports – 19-August, 2012 15:47 IST

The Government has announced the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for the year 2012, here today.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by Selection Committee consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators; headed by Col RajyaVardhan Singh Rathore. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer awards upon the following sportspersons.

A.        Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award – 2012:


1. Shri Vijay Kumar Shooting
2. Shri Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling


B.        Arjuna Awards 2012:


Sl. No. Name Discipline
1. Ms. Deepika Kumari Archery
2. Ms. Laishram Bombayla Devi Archery
3. Ms. Sudha Singh Athletics
4 Ms. Kavita Ramdas Raut Athletics
5 Ms. Ashwani Ponnappa Badminton
6 Mr. Parupalli Kashyap Badminton
7 Mr. Aditya S. Mehta Billiards & Snooker
8 Mr. Vikas Krishan Boxing
9 Mr. Yuvraj Singh Cricket
10 Mr. Sardar Singh Hockey
11 Mr. Yashpal Solanki Judo
12 Mr. Anup Kumar Kabaddi
13 Mr. Samir Suhag Polo
14 Ms. Annu Raj Singh Shooting
15 Mr. Omkar Singh Shooting
16 Mr. Joydeep Karmakar Shooting
17 Ms. Deepika Pallikal Squash
18 Mr. Sandeep Sejwal Swimming
19 Ms. Ng. Sonia Chanu Weightlifting
20 Mr. Narsingh Yadav Wrestling
21 Mr. Rajinder Kumar Wrestling
22 Ms. Geeta Phogat Wrestling
23 Mr. M. Bimoljit Singh Wushu
24 Mrs. Deepa Mallick Athletics – Paralympics
25 Mr. Ramkaran Singh Athletics – Paralympics

Normally  only one award of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna  is given every year to an individual sportsperson. However, the Scheme provides that this condition can be relaxed in exceptional circumstances viz., winning of an Olympic medal. Like wise for the Arjuna Awards, normally not more than 15 awards are to be given in any calendar year.  However, the Scheme of Arjuna Awards also provides that keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian Games and Olympic Games during a particular year, Arjuna Awards exceeding 15 in number may be allowed with proper justification and approval of the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports.  The Selection Committee noted that 2012 is the Olympic year and India has won 6 medals in the London Olympics, which is country’s best performance in Olympic Games, and recommended that the condition of one award in case of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and 15 awards in case ofArjuna Awards may be relaxed and the number of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award may be increased from 1 (one) to 2 (two) and Arjun Awards may be increased from 15 (fifteen) to 25 (twenty five).

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular performance in the year under consideration; ArjunaAward is given for consistently outstanding performance for three consecutive years preceding the year of award.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh each and Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

The awardees will receive their awards from His Excellency the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2012.

Source: Press Information Bureau 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version