Cabinet extends Disturb Area Status for another year


IMPHAL, December 3: The State government has decided to extend the Disturb Area Status imposed in the state except for the seven Assembly segments of the Imphal Municipal areas by another one year.

The decision was taken today by a state cabinet meeting held at the Chief Minister’s bungalow.

According to a source, the state cabinet which started from 4pm this evening considered the present law and order situations in the state, and decided to extend the Disturbed Area Status for another one year till November 30, 2013 throughout the state except in seven Assembly segments under the Imphal Municipal Council.

The Chief Minister will however be entitled to an interim review after six months.

The crucial state cabinet also considered the extension of Suspension of Operation with the Kuki militant groups and decided to place a proposal before the Ministry of Home Affairs for the extension of Suspension of Operation agreement with the Kuki militant groups for another year, said the source.

Further according to the source, the cabinet has also decided to call upon the state Governor to summon the third session of the Xth Manipur Legislative Assembly from December 19 for three days. The Business Advisory Committee will be meeting on December 7 to decide on the Winter session of the state Assembly, the source said.

The state cabinet meeting has also approved the devolution of power to the recently elected Panchayat.

NEWMAI NEWS Network adds: The meeting also decided to convene the 3rd sitting of the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly on December 19-21. A two-member committee for preparation of report for the constitution of the 3rd Manipur Finance Commission has also been set up. RC Mishra retired IAS, has been selected as chairman of the new committee. The committee has also been instructed to submit the said report within three months.

The Cabinet meeting further agreed to the proposal of the Electricity Department to introduce an incentive scheme for public consumer (domestic, commercial, industries, bulk consumers, etc.) in the current year for realization of past dues and improving the overall connection of revenue in the department.

The decision of the Government has been taken mainly after consideration of the fact that non-clearance of principal amount during the last few years amounting to Rs 231.66 crore and accumulated surcharge of Rs 80.10 crore as on August 31, 2012, has become so high and recovery of the arrears will not be feasible with the existing infrastructure and logistics in the department.

In order to improve the overall collection of revenue, the state Cabinet has given approval to the incentive scheme for which the main features are, the scheme will be for clearing the arrears dues of the defaulting consumers by liquidating their arrears on a one time basis for the outstanding dues as on August 31, 2012.

The scheme will be applicable to the public consumers (domestic, commercial, industries, bulk consumers, etc.) only (including the disconnected consumers) and not to the state/Central Government offices/semi-Government establishments, banks, military/ paramilitary, Public Sector undertaking/Autonomous District Councils, etc.

The window period for implementation of the scheme will be two months—January 1 to February 28 of 2013. Though the reference for availing the scheme shall be based on the outstanding arrears as on August 31, 2012, the consumers intending to avail the scheme shall have to make one time clearance/liquidation of full principal amount as on the last billing cycle to get 75 percent incentive (waiver) on the total accumulated surcharge before implementation of the scheme.

On the approval of the state Cabinet earlier, Power Department, Manipur invited Expression of Interest (EoI) from the illegible CPSUs/PSUs/private developers for implementation of six hydro-electric projects on August 24, 2012.

The projects are Irang (60 MW), Tuivai (51 MW), Maklang-Tuyungbi (45 MW), Nungleiband (105 MW), Pabram (190 MW) and Khongnem Chakha (67 MW).

Altogether 14 applicants submitted their EoIs including two CPSUs namely, NHPC and NEEPCO. Remaining twelve are private companies.

An evaluation committee constituted by the Government evaluated the EoIs submitted by the 14 developers and name of 10 developers have been recommended based on the technical and financial illegible criteria said in the EoI notice.

On the recommendation of the Power Department, the 10 shortlisted companies have been approved by the state Cabinet today.

The state Cabinet further decided to arrange an appropriate revised pay for all the employees of state IFCD and PWD who are on strike demanding revised pay.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here