Aribam Syam Sharma of Manipur bags award at 60th National Film Awards


Shri Aribam Syam Sharma is awarded with the Best Manipuri Film and  BEST EXPLORATION/ ADVENTURE FILM (Including sports)

  • Best Manipuri Film – Leipak Lei – Produce and Director – Aribam Syam Sharma – Award – Rajat Kamal and Cash Prize of  1,00,000 each to Producer and Director – Description – A simple story told in a straight-forward  simple narrative highlighting social reality. 
  • BEST EXPLORATION/ ADVENTURE FILM (Including sports)  –  Manipuri Pony (English & Manipuri)  – Producer : Films Division , Director: Aribam Syam Sharma  – RAJAT KAMAL & ` 50,000/- each to the Producer & Director  

    For tracing and presencing the historical significance of the game of polo which had its origins in Manipur and is played all over the world. The film unconceals facts less known and contrasts these with the current state of the Manipur pony, which seems to have no role to play in the present context. 


    Aribam Syam Sharma`s Leipaklei
    Based on the Sahitya Akademi Award winning drama- Leipaklei written by Arambam Samarendra, the film tells the story of a woman- Leipaklei who is separated from her husband and whose life is surrounded by the hard trials of fate and is burdened with sustaining herself and her little daughter.

The prestigious 60th National Film Awards for the year 2012 were announced in New Delhi in a joint Press Conference addressed by the Chairpersons of the three juries, Shri Basu Chatterjee for Feature Films, Ms. Aruna Raje for Non-Feature Films and Shri Swapan Mullick for Best Writing on Cinema on Monday (18th March 2013). The top honour in the feature film category goes to Paan Singh Tomar (Hindi) produced by UTV Software communications Ltd. and directed by Tigmanshu Dhulia . In non-feature film category, the top honour Best Film goes to Shepherds of Paradise (Gojri & Urdu) produced and directed by Raja Shabir Khan. In Best Writing on Cinema section, the book Silent Cinema in India – A Pictorial Journey (English) written by B.D. Garga and published by Harper Collins Publisher India has bagged the top honour, whereas Shri P.S. Radhakrishnan has been declared the Best film Critic.

In the Feature Film category, a total of 38 films from 14 languages have been selected for the 60th National Awards in 14 languages. Chittagong (Hindi) and 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam) have shared the awards for Best Debut Film of a Director, whereas for Best Popular Film, Vicky Donor (Hindi) and Ustad Hotel (Malayalam) have been selected. Shivaji Lotan Patil has been declared as the Best Director for Dhag (Marathi). Best Actor award is shared by Irrfaan playing the title role in Paan Singh Tomar and Vikram Gokhale for Anumati (Marathi) whereas Usha Jadhav gets Best Actress award for her performance in Dhag (Marathi). Rituparno Ghosh and Nawazuddin Siddiqui have been conferred with Special Jury award. The Best Child Artist award is shared byVirendra Pratap for Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi) and Minon for 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam).

In the Non-Feature Film category, Vikrant Pawar gets Best Director award for the film Kaatal (Marathi). Best Debut Film of a Director goes to Lipika Singh Darai for the film Eka Gachha Eka Manisa Eka Samudra (Odia). Shumona Goel and Shai Heredia for the film I Am Micro (English) and Vasudah Joshi for Cancer Katha (English) have been selected for Special Jury Award. Timbaktu (English) gets award in Best Environmental film and Dreaming Taj Mahal ( Hindi & Urdu) as Best Promotional film.

Source: Directorate of Film Festivals


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here