CM led all political party delegation to meet Union top brass on border issue


IMPHAL, December 1: An all political party delegation led by O Ibobi left for Delhi today except for representatives of BJP and MPP.

The delegates will submit a memorandum to the Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh; UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi; Union Home Minister, Sushil Kumar Sindhae; External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid regarding the international border fencing along the Indo-Myanmar border in Manipur.

It may be mentioned that there has been a rising concern over the Indo-Myanmar border fencing and representatives of the political parties after meeting with the Chief Minister have been deliberating on the issue. Sources said that the delegates will urge the concerned Union top brass to investigate and demarcate the border line with Myanmar to settle the boundary issue once and for all.

The state political delegate is said to have an appointment with the surveyor officials of India.

The construction of the border fencing is presently undertaken by the BRTF under the Ministry of Home.

The delegates include state Chief Minister Okram Ibobi SIngh, MPCC President Gaikhangam, MLA RK Anand, MLA N Biren , general secretary of NCP, N Kapur; Sapam Samungou of Shiv Sena; Trinamool MLA Dr I Ibohanbi; Gyaneshwor of All India Forward Block; Kabita Devi of Bahujan Samaj Party; Manipur State Congress Party president, Y Mani and Debabratta of the same party; N Hemanta and M Tombi of Janata Dal; Sharat Salam and Shanta of CPM; Dr M Nara of CPI along with N Mani; Manihar Goswami of JD(S); Athon Abonmei of Naga Peoples Front and L Shethi of Peoples Democratic Alliance.

The representatives of the other parties outside the Congress will also submit their memoranda’s of concern.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here