Home News Headlines

Big turn-out at R-Day parade despite bomb attacks

IMPHAL, January 27: The 65th Republic Day celebration was held on Sunday throughout the state with traditional fervour despite the boycott imposed by various insurgent groups and public came out in large numbers to witness the parade. However, public transport, shops and offices remained closed due to the day being a state holiday and the insurgent groups sponsored general strike.

The main celebration was held at Kangla with Governor of Manipur VK Duggal as the chief guest. The guard of honour to the Governor was given by a contingent of Manipur Police Department led by Polem Manjit Singh, assistant commandant of 7th Manipur Rifles. The parade was later inspected by the Governor. The Governor arrived at 8 am and unfurled the tri-colour flag marking the beginning of the observation.

The contingents arrived from the Kangla northern gate after the start from the 1st Manipur Rifle Parade Ground. A total of 88 contingents took part in the parade. The march past parade commander was Ningthoujam Herojit Meitei, Commandant of 6th IRB. CRPF, Manipur Rifles, Manipur Police (male and female), ex-servicemen, fire service, colleges, schools and cultural contingents and tableau took part in the parade.

Meritorious service award, gallantry medals and police medal for fire service was given away by the Governor to 16 police personnel. The program was attended by the Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Minister, council of ministers, MLAs, high ranking civil and police personnel.

Different gates advertising schemes were built along the routed passed by parade.

The personnel approved for award by the President of India was also announced. They are Sh Babu Singh Kharaibam, sub-officer and Sh Khuman and Peter Tangkhul, leading fireman for Fire Service Medal. For Correctional Service Medal, S Jayanta Singh, warden of Manipur Central Jail, W Jin Meitei, warden and SL Haopu of the same jail has been approved.

The recipients of medals on Sunday parade for gallantry includes P Tarunkumar Singh, SI of Imphal West, S Ibotombi Singh, SI (CID), N Nungshibabu Singh, Haviladar of 7th IRB; Md Rajib Khan, SI of Imphal East; Radhakishore Tongbram, havildar of 6th MR, M Roshan Singh, havildar of 7th MR; O Sanjitkumar Singh , rifleman of 1st MR; Kh Herojit Singh, rifleman of 5th IRB.

Police medal for meritorious service had been awarded to N Manimohan Singh , CO of 1st IRB, L Ibotombi Singh, CO of 2nd IRB; Mangkhojang Kapgen , AC of 4th IRB; Y Indrakumar Singh, JC of 6th IRB, N Sanatomba Singh, subedar of MPTC, N Binoy Singh, Inspector, Imphal West; N Nabachandra Singh, haviladar of 7th MR and the President Fire Service medal for meritorious service was awarded to Surchandra Singh Khaidem, sub-officer of Manipur Fire Service.

The first position in the competition among uniform contingents was awarded to CRPF and consecutive 2nd award to 7th MR and Civil Police (Female), third award went to Manipur Jail.

For NCC groups, positions were given to NCC Air Wing, 14 Bn Senior Boys, Sainik School A. Schools contingents went to TG Higher Secondary, National Sports Academy, Manipur Boys and Manipur Girls consecutively.

College contingents were bagged by Standard College, DM College Science (Boys), GP Women’s College. Band Parties were awarded to MPTC, 40th AR band and Forest. Tableau display was bagged by NHRM, MANIREDA, PMGSY.

Gate construction went to Forest Department, RMSA, Commerce and Industries. For cultural troupes, Institute of Cultural Upliftment, Imphal West, Sangeet Kala Sangam, Khurai Lamlong Bazar and Zeme Cultural Dance Party, Makuilongdi village of Senapati.

Special prizes were given to Handicap (Wheelchair) Platoon, CE of PWD, CE of PHED, CE of Power, CE of IFCD, N Herojit ,MPS parade commander, Polem Manjit, Commander for Guard of Honour, !st Manipur Rifles Band Party.

The beating of the retreat was held at the Governors Bungalow in the evening.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version