Home News Headlines

Dr Nara chosen consensus candidate

IMPHAL, January 21: Ten political parties formally announced today, Dr M Nara, Communist Party of India, state secretary as their common candidate for the upcoming 16th Lok Sabha election for inner parliamentary constituency.

The announcement was made during a press conference called by representatives of the ten parties at Irawat Bhavan, today.

The ten parties are Communist Party of India; Janata Dal (United); Janata Dal (Secular); Communist Party of India (M); Peoples’ Democratic Alliance; Revolutionary Socialist Party; All India Forward Block; Bahujan Samaj Party and Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena.

Today’s press briefing was attended by Dr M Nara of CPI, M Tombi of Janata Dal (United); Manihar Goswami of Janata Dal (secular); Sapam Shamungou of Shiv Sena; Salam Sarat of CPI (M); L Seth of Peoples’ Democratic Alliance; Ningthoujam Ratan of Revolutionary Socialist Party; Gyaneshor Sharma of All India Forward Block; L Sarita of Bahujan Samaj Party and the leader of Nationalist Congress Party.

Speaking at the joint press conference, Sarat Salam said that CPI state secretary, Dr M Nara was unanimously chosen as the common candidate of the ten non-Congress and non-BJP political parties during a meeting at the residence of Salam Yaima at the Singjamei Yumnam Leikai on January 19.

He continued saying that for the common candidate for the outer Parliamentary constituency will be announced in the second phase, as the parties which include national parties are waiting for approval of their national parties.

Speaking at the press conference, Dr M Nara said before his selection as the common candidate, the like-minded political parties had a meeting on several occasions with the objective of deciding on a common candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha election.

He said the parties by fielding only a common candidate is aiming to fight the present government and is trying to field the one man who would not only sit at the Parliament but also raise his voice.

He further appealed to the other non-Congress and non-BJP parties to join hands with them.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version