Home News Headlines

HU defeat CDO 3-1 to clinch U-14 hockey title

IMPHAL, January 12: Hockey Union, Lairikyengbam defeated Charangpat Development Organization, Charangpat 3-1, in the final of 1st U-14 Herojit Waribam Gold Cup Hockey Tournament at Khuman Lampak Hockey Practice Field, today.

CDO’s W Neerajkumar received the best promising player and best midfield of the tournament,while Y Shymson Meitei of AJSA received the best goal keeper award; T Barlin Singh of CDO received the best defender award; A Suresh Sharma of HU as best forward and the best promising team award received by All Jiribam Sports Association.

The closing function was attended by MLA Uripok, L Nandakumar Singh; vice-president Manipur Hockey, S Sobita Devi; president All Manipur Working Journalist Union, Samjai Wakhemcha; deputy director Transport, Ksh Lemba Singh and national awardee, Basudev Singh as chief guest, president and guests of honour respectively.

Meanwhile, Suresh Sharma opened the scoring of HU in the 11th minute and after three minutes, he added one more goal. With this, the first half ended with HU leading 2-0.

Continuing HU leading in the second half, W Neerajkumar scored the third goal in the 31st minute; however, Th Ahendro scored the solitary goal for CDO in the 43rd minute.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version