SB lifts 57th CC Meet trophy


IMPHAL, January 11: Ng Jitkumar’s solitary goal through penalty helped Sahastra Sheema Bal, West Bengal lifted the 57th CC Meet trophy, defeating Tiddim Road Athletics Union, Kwakeithel 1-0, in the final match at Main Stadium, Khuman Lampak, today.

The winner received a cheque of Rs 2 lakhs along with the championship trophy while the runner up received a cheque of Rs 1 lakh along with runner’s up trophy.

His solitary goal was made when he intercept the ball inside the 18 yards box from a corner kicked of Rana Dep Das, but luckily his shot touched M Meino hand and then the referee gave penalty in favour of SSB.

He found net in 31st minute, with his lone goal the first half ended with SSB leading 1-0.

In the second half, the kwakeithel lads strongly played against SSB to equalize, N Momocha gave a pass from near the right corner, however SSB defender Joykumar headed the ball and save from danger.

TRAU’s Surchand header in the 54th minute, through a free kicked of L Ratan was missed to convert goal. Just four minutes later, another opportunity for TRAU to equalize, but S Surchand missed his shot was over the bar through a corner kicked of L Bikram.

Although the Kwakeithel lads hardly tried to equalize, but didn’t bear fruit. TRAU striker Th Premkumar despair hope’s for the top scorer, he was change to S Ratan in the 77th minute because of injury.

However, SSB Ranjan was shown yellow while he create foul against striker Ronald. After four minutes, Ronald was also changed K Priyokumar.

After two important striker of TRAU took off, TRAU decrease the probability to equalize.

In the last minute, TRAU got another opportunity to equalize, with Momocha’s shot from 20 yards through intercepting a pass from corner kicked, was saved the goalie Pradip Basumatary, who received the man of the match of final and Jitkumar received the best striker of todays final match.

N Sushil Meitei of NEROCA received the award for the footballer of the year trophy for men, by receiving a cash of Rs 15,000 with the rolling trophy while G Radharani Devi received the award for the footballer of the year trophy for women with receiving a cash of Rs 5000 along with trophy.

North Imphal Sporting Association (NISA) with 706.25 points received the fair play trophy with a cash of Rs 5000.

The best goal keeper trophy of the championship was received by Ch Kumar Singh of TRAU with a cash of Rs 5000 while the best player trophy received by Daniel L Hmar of TRAU with a cash of Rs 4000 and the best top scorer trophy received by L Sanatomba of NISA with 6 goals with a cash of Rs 5000.

The coach of the year trophy was received by M Surmala Chanu with a cash of Rs 5000.

The best defender trophy received by Md Sohail Shah of NEROCA with a cash of Rs 5000 and the best mid-fielder trophy received by L Bikram of TRAU with a cash of Rs 5000.

Md Akbar Khan of Kshetri Iril Mapal Youth Club received the trophy for the young player of the tournament with a cash of Rs 5000.

The closing function was attended by PHED and Labour Minister, I Hemochandra Singh; parliamentary secretary, MOBC and SC, Mohd Amin Shah; MLA Thangmeiband, Kh Joykisan Singh; commissioner, YAS/ arts and culture, Dr RK Nimai Singh; deputy commissioner Imphal West, K Radhakumar Singh and project director, MDS, Y Ningthem Singh as chief guest, president and guests of honour respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here