SSB to meet TRAU in final


IMPHAL, January 8: Sashastra Seema Bal, West Bengal prevailed over North Imphal Sporting Association, Thangmeiband 5-4 through tie breaker, in the second semi-final of the CC Meet at Main Stadium, Khuman Lampak, today.

Sanatomba opened the scoring for NISA as early as the third minute while Liton Shil scored the equalizing goal in the 32nd minute from a deflection off NISA defender Ajitkumar from the 18 yard line.

After equalizing the score, SSB lads played strongly against its opponents. H Govinda Singh of SSB carried a ball from the half line and shot from 18 yard but unluckily missed the goal.

Although SSB received many free kicks, they could not take advantage of any.

In the last minute of the first half, NISA captain Nillakumar gave an aerial ball pass to Sanatomba but SSB defender headed away the ball to safety.

The first half ended on equal terms at 1-1.

In the second half, Sanatomba collided with SBB goalie Atif Rasool inside the 18 yard box in 47th minute. The goalie was injured and the play was stopped for three minute. Atif was replaced by Pradip Basumatary in the 56th minute.

After four minutes, Meikinlung was cautioned by the referee, when he created a foul against Govinda. The referee also cautioned Bijen of NISA and H Bishojit Singh of SSB in the 69th and 76th minute respectively.

In the second last minute, SSB received a free from 20 yards but could not convert the golden opportunity into the winning goal.

The referee decided tie breaker to finalize the winner.

In penalty shot, SSB Rana Dep Das shot first but missed the goal as the ball bounced off the bar. Asit Kumar Mallick, L Ranjan, Ng Jitkumar and A Joykumar found the net in the penalty shotout.

For NISA, M Bijen Singh, Th Itomba Singh and Th Surjit found the net but G Golmei shot was saved by the goalie Pradip. And Sanatomba’s shot was wide off the goal post.

NISA defender Th Itomba Singh recieved the man of the match title which included a trophy, cash of Rs 2000 and t-shirt.

SSB will now meet TRAU in the final on January 11.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here