Three children from state to recieve National Bravery Award


IMPHAL, January 17: Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh will confer the National Bravery Awards to 25 young children three from the state this year on the eve of Republic Day.

According to a PIB Defense Wing statement, of the 25 awardees, nine are girls and five awards will be given posthumously.

The three children from the state are Master Kangleinganba Kshetrimayum, Kumari Kharibam Gunichand Devi and (Late) Master M Khayingthei.

All 25 children will receive their awards from the Prime Minister of India prior to the Republic Day 2014 and will participate in the Republic Day Parade, it said.

The award includes a medal, certificate and cash. Recipients will also be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling, said the statement.

The coveted Bharat Award has been conferred on 8 ½ year old Kumari Mahika Gupta of Delhi who saved her brother from floods at Kedarnath (Uttarakhand). The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award has been conferred to 16 year old Kumari Maleka Singh Tak of Rajasthan who displayed rare grit and determination in fighting off her molesters, said the statement.

The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to 17 year old Master Shubam Santosh Chaudari of Maharashtra who saved two children when their school van caught fire, it said.

Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar (17 ½ years) of Maharashtra, Master Akshay Jairam Roj (13 years) of Maharashtra, Late Kum. Mausmi Kashyap (11 years) of Uttar Pradesh and Late Master Aryan Raj Shukla (14 years) of Uttar Pradesh have been given the Bapu Gaidhani Awards, it said.

Master Akshay Rairam Roj and Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar displayed outstanding courage in fighting a leopard. Late Kumari Mausmi Kashyap and Later Master Aryan Raj Shukla sacrificed their lives while trying to save others from drowning, it said.

Other recipients are Kumari Shilpa Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), Master Sagar Kashyap (New Delhi), Master Abhishek Ekka (Chattisgarh), Master S.S. Manoj (Karnataka), Master Subin Mathew, Master Akhil Biju and Master Yadhukrishnan V. S. (all from Kerala), Master Saurbh Chandel (Madhya Pradesh), Kumari Tanvi Nandkumar Ovhal and Master Rohit Ravi Janmanchi (Maharashtra), Master Vanlalhruaia, Kumari Remlalhruaitluangi, late Kumari Malsawmtluangi and Kumari Hani Ngurdinthari (all from Mizoram) and Late Master L. Manio Chachei (Nagaland).

Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the Indian Council for Child Welfare has given awards to 871 brave Children- comprising 618 boys and 253 girls, it said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here