Government defies HC`s directive


IMPHAL, February 19: The Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms (personnel division) has officially released the Direct Post Creation (DPC) recommendation results of 34 MPS promoted from grad-II officers to grade-I, in defiance of an interim directive issued by the acting Chief Justice High Court of Manipur, to keep it under “sealed cover”.

A single bench of acting Chief Justice, L.K Mahapatra, High Court of Manipur, issued the directive with regards to a case (No. MC (WPC) No. 15 of 2014 Ref. WPC No. 366 of 2013) pending in the court wherein the petitioner complaint of neglecting the seniority list while giving promotion.

As per the petitioners, the MPS promotees (promoted during the year 2007 March), complaint that they have been given same treatment with those MPS cadres (selected during direct recruitment in September 2007) neglecting their seniority.

The sources pointed out that according to provision of the MHA’s 1986 notification promotion for promotees cannot be mixed with fresh cadres (direct selection). However, the state government had allegedly superseded the provisions.

Despite the case pending with the court the DPC was conducted by the selection committee yesterday (Feb 18) recommending the promotion of 34 MPS-grade-II officers to grade-I.

With the case still pending with the high court a hearing was further held today with regards to the recommendation. The court after hearing both the counsels issued a saying that “the DPC may be convened for consideration of the officers for promotion from grade-II to grade-I but the recommendation of the DPC shall be kept in sealed cover till next date”.

In total defiance of the court’s directive, the deputy secretary of DP, A. Subash, (in the name of the Governor) released the recommendation results of the selection committee.

The newly prmoted MPS are S. Nandakishore Singh, Thokchom Vikramjit Singh, Sh. Jugeshore Sharma, Khoisnam Sarma Devi, R.K. Khomdon Singh, Hopson Sapam, S. Somorjit Singh, Victoria Yengkhom, Heisnam Balram Singh, M. Mubi Singh, Watham Basu Singh, Sarda Laishram, Dhanapiyari Devi, B.W. Singhajeet Singh, Rashini Yengkhom, Polem Manjit Singh, Akhuba Kabui, K. Meghachandra Singh, Thaimei Gaipuiril, Bembem Nongthombam, S. Ingo Singh, Priyadarshini Laishram, Md. Jakiruddin, S. Meghachandra Singh, R.K. Manbindu Singh, H. Gyaneshore Singh, Sarangthem Asana, S. Ibomcha Singh, Y. Rajendro Singh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here