Four others file nomination for second phase of LS polls


IMPHAL, March 24: Altogether five candidates have submitted their nomination papers to the returning officer of inner constituency, K Radhakanta, the deputy commissioner of Imphal West, for the 16th inner Manipur parliamentary constituency till date.

The candidates of the inner constituency along with their supporters thronged at the office of the deputy commissioner of Imphal West to submit their nomination paper on Monday.

The Congress candidate, also the sitting MP, Dr Th Meinya, seeking re-election at the Lok Sabha polls from the inner Manipur parliamentary constituency submitted his nomination paper around 11:15 am.

He was accompanied by chief minister Okram Ibobi, deputy chief minister Gaikhangam, I Hemochadra, Govindas Konthoujam, Abdul Nashir and his ten proposers.

Later around 1:40 pm, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Dr RK Ranjan arrived and submitted his nomination paper to the returning officer. The president of BJP state unit Thounaujam Chaoba, other workers and a proposer accompanied him.

The common candidate of the Left and Secular Alliance, CPI’s Dr Moirangthem Nara submitted his nomination paper around 1:58 pm and was accompanied by his four proposers while filing his nomination.  

Meanwhile, independent candidate Oinam Indira also filed her nomination paper to the returning officer accompanied by her proposers.

Oinam Jotin, the candidate of the newly floated political party Jai Maha Bharat party rushed to the returning officer to file his nomination paper but as his paper was incomplete, he was told to file his nomination  another day, a source informed IFP.

The candidate of Manipur People Democratic Front (MPDF) Dr G Tonsana Sharma who had submitted his nomination paper on March 19 to returning officer K Radhakumar was the first to file nomination for the inner parliamentary constituency seat.

Former IPS officer Sarangthem Manaobi, candidate of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) and Aam Aadmi Party’s announced candidate Dr Kh Ibomcha have not submitted their nomination papers as yet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here