Seven files nominations for outer constituency


IMPHAL, March 21: Seven candidates have submitted their nomination papers to the returning officer of the outer constituency, deputy commissioner of Thoubal T Ranjit for the 16th Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (ST) till date.

According to sources, the Nationalist Congress Party’s candidate for outer constituency Chungkhokai Doungel,76, of C Aisan village, Saikhul under Senapati district proposed by Shokholun, Khupjalun and Tongpao Doungel; Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate Prof Gangmumei Kamei ,73, from Majorkhul, Imphal West proposed by Samuel Jendai, Jadumani, PS Henry Paotei and D Shaiza submitted their nomination paper for outer constituency on March 19 to the returning officer.

Gangmumei became the second candidate to file his nomination paper after the NCP candidate for the outer Manipur seat. The All India Trinamool Congress party’s candidate Kim Gangte, 51, from Ujungmakhong, Moirang under Churachandpur District proposed by Thongkho Hao and Independent candidate Mani Charnamei, 55, from Thonglang Akutpa village, Kangpokpi under Senapati District with ten proposers has submitted their nomination paper on March 20.

According to a report from the Chief Electoral Officer’s office, three candidates of the Outer constituency have submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Office on Friday.

Among them, the sitting Member of Parliament Thangso Baite, 61, from Dongjang Village, Sugnu under Charachandpur District with four proposer is seeking re-election on a Congress ticket. He was accompanied by state chief minister Okram Ibobi, dy CM Gaikhangam, sitting MP from inner constituency Dr Th Meinya.

Naga People’s Front’s candidate Soso Lorho, 72, from Tinggan Affi(A) Village, Tadubi Paomata under Senapati District with three proposers and Janata Dal United’s candidate Lamminlien Gangte alias Len Gangte,43, from Uyungmakhong Village, Moirang under Churachandpur with 10 proposer also submitted their nominations.

The Aam Adami Party’s outer constituency candidate Khamchinpao Zou and Lamlalmoi Gangte of Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) are yet to file their nomination papers till date.

Meanwhile, the candidate of Manipur People Democratic Front (MPDF) Dr G Tonsana Sharma has submitted his nomination paper for the inner parliamentary constituency to the Returning Officer of the inner constituency, deputy commissioner Imphal West K Radhakumar.

The nomination paper was submitted after the deputy commissioner K Radhakumar Singh released the election notification for the inner parliamentary constituency on March 19.

Seven candidates are in the fray for the inner parliamentary seat in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections which includes sitting MP Dr Meinya of Congress, Dr RK Ranjan of BJP, former IPS officer S Manaobi (Retd) of AITC, Dr G Tonsana Sharma of Manipur Democratic People’s Front, Dr M Nara of Communist Party of India, Oinam Indira of Independent and Dr Kh Ibomcha of AAP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here