Nine lakh voters to seal the fate of ten candidates for outer seat today


IMPHAL, April 8: The Hills districts along with seven Assembly Constituencies of Thoubal and one of Jiribam will go to the polls tomorrow for the II Manipur Outer Schedule Tribe Reserved Parliamentary seat.

10 candidates are in the fray including a woman candidate for the seat.

Manipur has two Parliamentary Constituencies, the Outer Manipur and the Inner Manipur.

The Inner Manipur comprising of the valley districts sans seven Assembly Constituencies of Thoubal and one of Jiribam sub division will go into voting on April 17. Eight candidates including a woman are in the fray for the inner seat.

A total of over 9 Lakhs voters will seal the fate of the ten candidates in  fray for the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency as the state goes into voting for the 16th Lok Sabha Election tomorrow.

Of the total 911699 the number of male voters is 448631, while there are  463068 female voters.

The voters will franchise their rights in 1221 polling stations in five hill districts and in one assembly constituency of Jiribam and seven Assembly constituencies in Thoubal.

In Thoubal alone, altogether 190189 voters will cast their votes in 252 polling stations of which 196 has been declared sensitive, 16 hyper sensitive and 40 as normal polling stations.

As for the hill districts Churachandpur has the highest number of voters, altogether 178277 voters in 296 polling stations in six assembly constituencies of which 245 has been declared sensitive, 13 hyper sensitive and 38 normal.

Tamenglong has the lowest number of voters (81,197 voters) with 158 polling stations wherein 106 have been declared sensitive and 35 hyper sensitive.  

Senapati is the district having second largest number of voters (1,44,550 voters) with total 191 polling stations in three assembly constituencies of which 52 is declared hyper sensitive, 74 sensitive and the rest normal.

A total of 96108 voters are in Ukhrul district with 193 polling stations and 110 sensitive and 39 hyper sensitive while Chandel districts has 83, 693 voters with 131 polling station of which 21 hyper sensitive and 48 sensitive.

According to data provided by the Manipur Election Watch/Association, five out of the ten candidates for the Outer seat belong to the age group of 41-60 years, while 30 percent of the candidates (3 out of 9) are crorepaties.

Naga Peoples’ Front candidate Soso Lorho with a total asset of Rs 134,45,800 is the richest among the candidates while CPI (ML) candidate Lamlalmoi alias Momoi Gangte being the poorest with a total assets of just Rs 8 lakh, according to the data.

Amongst the ten candidates, only Mani Charenamei has filed his Income Tax return.

Sitting Outer MP, Thangso Baite of the INC has a total asset of Rs 59,47,000 inluding Rs 21,27,000 worth of movable assets and Rs 38,20,000 worth of immovable properties, according to the data available.

Independent candidate, Amarson Sankhil has no immovable assets while his total asset stands at Rs 8,57,093.

The inner constituency has eight candidates with just one woman candidate. According to the data provided by the Manipur Election Watch/Association, only BJP candidate Rajkumar Ranjan Singh with total assets of Rs 1.34 crore is the only crorepati among the eight candidates.

The average assets of the eight candidates stand at Rs 36.10 lakhs.

Of the eight candidates, only Moirangthem Nara of CPI has declared liabilities worth Rs 27.85 lakhs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here