Cabinet approves five more sub-divisions in hills


IMPHAL, August 7: The State cabinet has approved creation of five new sub-divisions in the hill districts of the State. 

According to government spokesperson, CAF & PD minister Moirangthem Okendro, the Chief Minister chaired a cabinet meeting at the conference room of his secretariat this afternoon. 

He said the cabinet approved the creation of the five new sub-divisions with an aim to facilitate proper administration in the districts. 

Okendro identified the new sub-divisions as Mao and Bungte Chiru sub-divisions in Senapati district, Lungchong Meiphai sub-division in Ukhrul district, Thangting sub-division in Churachandpur district and Haochong sub-division in Tamenglong district. 

Further elaborating on the cabinet decision, he said Mao sub-division has a population of 51138 and will cover the 13 villages previously included in the Tadubi sub-division, Lungchong Meiphai sub-division will have 28 villages with a total population of 42451 existing as TD Block. 

Thangting sub-division will have 125 villages with a total population of 27730, he said before adding that 66 of the total villages were previously under Churachandpur sub-division while 59 others are from Henglep sub-division. 

Haochong sub-division will be created by carving out 16 villages with a total population of 14120 from Tamenglong sub-division, whereas Bungte Chiru sub-division will be created by carving out 27 villages from SDC Kangchup circle and will have a total population of 12071, the government spokesperson said. 

The decision for the creation of the new sub-divisions was approved considering the difficulties villagers from far flung areas had to face in order to reach the district and block Head Quarters, he said. 

On the other hand, the cabinet has also approved appointing four additional government advocates through the Manipur Public Service Commission, he said. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here