Committee constituted to explore legal routes available to protect indigenous peoples


IMPHAL, August 6: A 13 member committee of political parties has been constituted, led by deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam as chairman and MLA RK Anand as convener. The committee will examine and consult legal experts to explore if a law can be enacted in the State to protect the indigenous peoples. 

The said committee was constituted in a marathon meeting of all political parties on the hot issue of Inner Line Permit system, held today at the office chamber of the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi. The meeting chaired by the Chief Minister and started this afternoon at 2 and continued till 7:30 in the evening.

The newly constituted committee will meet on August 9. 

In today’s meeting, representatives of most of the political parties were present, except for the Naga Peoples’ Front, NPF. The 13 members are: deputy CM Gaikhangam and MLA RK Anand of Congress, L Ibomcha of NCP, Dr I Ibohalbi of Trinamool, Dr M Nara of CPI, Ksh Shanta of CPI (M), K Shyam of LJP, Manihar Goswami of JD (S), M Tombi of JD (U), RK Shivachandra of BJP and K Kabita Devi of BSP, Th Manihar of AAP and N Sovakiran of MPP. 

The committee will submit a report to the Government soon but has not fixed a date for doing so. 

Moirangthem Tombi of JD (U) speaking on the sidelines of the meeting said the political parties have collectively urged the Government to release the agitators who are in police custody. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here