IMC chairperson survives no-confidence scare


IMPHAL, August 19: The present Chairperson of Imphal Municipal Corporation Aribam Nimai Sharma survived a no-confidence motion today.

A voice-vote demanding his replacement was held today at the Imphal Municipal Council conference hall presided over by vice chairperson Thambaljao Phaomei and IMC executive officer Ng Uttam as the House secretary.

Former chairperson N Raghumani Singh led 14 other supporters to raise a no confidence motion against the present chairperson alleging him of gross misappropriation of municipal corporation funds by blatant misuse of the chair.

However, during the voice-vote, only 12 councillors stand for Raghumani while 14 voted for Nimai Sharma.

According to the Manipur Municipalities Act 1994 bye-law No 11 of Bye Law for conduct of business in the meeting of the municipal Council read with Section 51 of the Manipur Municipalities Act 1994 it is clearly reflected that at the time of deciding a question, votes may be taken by show of hands or by division and shall be taken by division if any councillor desires.

And by section 31 of the Manipur Municipalities Act 1994 (read with Amendment) it is clear that a minimum of 14 out of 27 numbers of councillor are required for vacating the post of the Chairperson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here