Speaker serves disqualification show cause notices to four MLAs


IMPHAL, August 11: Manipur Legislative Assembly Speaker has served show cause notices to four MLAs of the Manipur Pradesh Trinamool Congress Committee (AITC Manipur Unit) to submit their counter affidavits to defend disqualification proceedings filed against them.

According to high reliable sources, the notice was served to the four MLAs today by the Assembly secretariat.

The development comes following a petition filed by the party’s president Andro MLA, Th Shyamkumar Singh pleading disqualification proceedings against the said MLAs under Para 2 (1) (a) of the tenth Schedule r.w. article/191(2) of the Constitution of India and also relevant provisions of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

The four MLAs are Thangmeiband MLA Kh Joykishan Singh, Thongju MLA Th Bishwajit Singh, Konthoujam MLA K Sarat Singh and Wangoi MLA O Lukhoi Singh.

Shyamkumar had included Hiyanglam MLA M Kunjo Singh’s name in his petition, however decided to revoke his name from the petition on August 9.

He had sought disqualification of the four on the ground of defection Rules 1986 and disqualify them from being a member of the Manipur Legislative Assembly in accordance with the provisions of the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

When IFP contacted, Wangoi MLA, O Lukhoi, informed that he was attending a function at his constituency and has no knowledge of the notice. 

Shyamkumar filed two separate petitions against the MLAs, the first on June 26, 2014 to the secretary Manipur Legislative Assembly at 3.55pm against Thangmeiband MLA Kh Joykishan Singh, and Thongju MLA Th Bishwajit Singh.

The second petition was filed on July 4, 2014 against Konthoujam MLA K Sarat Singh, Hiyanglam MLA M Kunjo Singh, Wangoi MLA O Lukhoi Singh.

On the other hand, SHyamkumar had also received a notice for appearance before the tribunal of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India on August 21 at 10.30 am.

Speaking over the phone, Shyamkumar confirmed that he had been intimated by his office regarding the summon.

The MPTC president who is out of station, was positive that proceedings will be initiated against the four MLAs.

Dr I Ibohalbi, leader of the legislature wing of Trinamool Congress, also responded in a positive tone that the disqualification proceedings should have already been set in motion. 

It may be noted that on June 12 last, Mukul Roy, general secretary of the AITCC, in an order suspended six MLAs from the primary membership of the MPTCC namely M Kunjo, Dr I Ibohalbi, K Sarat, Kh Joykishan, O Lukhoi, Th Bishworjit. 

However the suspension order for Dr I Ibohalbi was revoked on June 27 followed by that of Kunjo on August 9. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here