TNL assembly approves president Artax’s resignation


By R Lester Makang

UKHRUL, August 23: Four days after the Tangkhul Naga Long (TNL) president Artax A Shimray dramatically stepped down from his post, TNL assembly has today accepted his resignation after deliberating the nature of his offer of resignation at the jampacked TNL Assembly Hall.

The assembly session of the apex Tangkhul Civil Society Organisation chaired by TNL speaker LM Able, proceeded from 11 am and continued till 4 pm today.

A total of 222 representatives from 68 villages of the district under the four zonal TNL constituent units, namely Ato Longphang, Aze Longphang, Zingsho Longphang and Zingtun Longphang, apart from TNL, TSL, TKS, TNWL and TMNL executives and former TNL presidents amongst others attended the session.

After deliberating on the nature of resignation tendered by the erstwhile TNL chief on 19 August, 2014 citing his incapacity to effectively carry forward the peoples’ movement and restore normalcy in the town, speaker Able declared the approval for the resignation application before the house.

Subsequently, it was also agreed that in the absence of the head, vice president SD Reisang would continue to run the office and arrange by-election to elect a new president within six months time.

It may be recalled that Artax A Shimray was elected president to the apex Tangkhul customary body on 1 October last year and his term in office was running short of only a little more than a month to complete one year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here