BJP gears up for Hiyanglam Assembly by-poll


IMPHAL, Sept 13: After the official announcement that Hiyanglam Assembly constituency by-poll will be held on October 15, the State unit of BJP has geared up to open its account in the constituency with an all-out effort.

Sources said an executive meeting of the party was held this morning to prepare for the upcoming poll.

They said many resolutions were taken regarding the poll preparation. Two persons are under consideration of the party for proposal as the party candidate. One is Maibam Dhanabir Singh, son of the late MLA M Kunjo and Dr Y Radheshyam, an ex-candidate of CPI, who contested in the last Assembly election.

However, the name of the candidate will be announced on September 15 after getting approval from the party central committee, they added.

The sources also revealed that in the meeting, election management committee, election campaign committee and election management committee with preparation of micro management strategy have been formed.

The election management committee include Th Chaoba, the party president as chairperson along with former president Sh Shantikumar Sharma, M Borot, Borbabu, three State secretaries, four vice-presidents, RK Ranjan and Gangumei Kamei etc., said the source.

The sources continued that election campaign committee will consist of 32 members from Hiyanglam.

They added that names of BJP heavyweights like Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitaraman, Radhamohan, Prakash Javadekar, Gen VK Singh, Dr Jitendra and S Kohali are to be proposed to the central leaders for the poll campaign.

It may be mentioned that the demise of MLA M Kunjo had left vacant the seat of Hiyanglam Assembly constituency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here