Efforts on to bring normalcy in the State, says Tapir Gao


IMPHAL, September 7: BJP, national secretary in-charge of Manipur and Nagaland Tapir Gao has appealed to the United Naga Council and Naga leaders to withdraw their agitation of highway blockade.

Addressing a press conference this morning at the Nityaipat Chuthek office, Tapir said the NDA government has already sent three experts to look after the situation in the State, and attempts will be made to bring an amicable solution to the ongoing problem in Manipur.

Tapir has further appealed to all communities of Manipur to cooperate with BJP in bringing a solution, so that normalcy returns in the State, adding that he would like to visit Senapati to meet the leaders of UNC and other Naga leaders. He mentioned that Manipur is facing lots of difficulties due to the indefinite blockade called by the UNC following the Ukhrul August 30 incident.

Clearing doubts over the leadership crisis within the State BJP unit, Tapir maintained that it is a family matter. He ruled out the possibility of a change in the State leadership of the party. The post of the president will not be changed without the incumbent completing his tenure, he added.

Tapir alleged that the Congress led government has bungled with the ILP issue in the State. He said the issue has been left pending for the last ten years. He added that the controversy regarding the K-Pro Ltd over the cleaning of Loktak Lake will be thoroughly investigated under the initiative of the NDA government.

Tapir exuded confidence that his party will win the by-election of Hiyanglam Assembly constituency, which is likely to be held either by September end or early October this year. The party is also equipped to fight in the upcoming Autonomous District Council election, Tapir added.

Later, five politicians got officially enrolled to the BJP from today. The leaders are; Salam Joy Ex-MLA Wangoi Assembly constituency, AR Khan Retd IAS ex-candidate of Kshetrigao Assembly Constituency, M Daniel, Member ADC 19 Dollang Constituency Tamenglong, Haokholal Singson ADC 24-Langpi Tamenglong and H Santosh Singh Member IMC Ward no 4 Uripok


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here