Former CPI candidate Radheshyam to fight Hiyanglam by-poll on Trinamool ticket


IMPHAL, September 21: The All India Trinamool Congress has announced Dr Y Radheshyam as the Trinamool candidate for the October 17 Hiyanglam by-poll. The announcement was made from Kolkata in the presence of MPTCC president MLA Th Shyamkumar today.

Manipur Pradesh Trinamool Congress Committee president Th Shyamkumar had discussed the candidature for the by-poll with the party’s central high command at Kolkata this morning, said party spokesperson P Premananda.

Premananda said ever since the seat was left empty by the demise of party MLA Maibam Kunjo, the party has been on the look-out for a potential candidate to fill the void which fortunately ended this morning. He was speaking at a press conference at the party’s Moirangkhom office today.

Dr Radheshyam said he had fought the last general election from the same constituency with a CPI ticket, but was defeated by only 85 votes by (L) Maibam Kunjo.

He said he had joined CPI for its high ideologies, but realised that there are several conflicts within for which he decided to leave the party and join the more secular party Trinamool.

The BJP has already announced the late MLA Maibam Kunjo’s son Dhanabir as its candidate for the by-poll.

Premananda said Dr Yumnam Radhesyam had applied for party ticket this early morning along with his form for primary membership to the party.

This morning, his details including bio-data was faxed to Th Shyamkumar who is in Kolkata with the party high command, he continued.

During today’s morning meeting with the party high command, MLA Shyamkumar had only recommended Dr Radheshyam’s name for party ticket, Premananda said.

As for the ILPS issue in the State, the MPTCC has decided to continue to be in the all-political parties committee on ILPS following the recent development on the issue including the government’s meeting with the JCILPS and release of arrested students volunteers, he said.

The party had taken the stand during a meeting of its office bearers and executive members on September 16, 2014, he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here