State BJP has highlighted EVM concerns to ECI: Chaoba


IMPHAL, September 23: The BJP Manipur Pradesh has put three points of concerns before the Election Commission of India regarding the Electronic Voting Machines during a recent meeting, BJP State unit president Th Chaoba told the media today.

According to Chaoba, he along with M Bhorot had convened a meeting with a three member team of the ECI during a recent trip to the national capital.

During the special sitting, he pointed out before the ECI team that the public were unhappy with the use of the EVMs in the State since the past few elections, he told media persons at the party’s Nityaipat Chuthek office today.

His team also told the ECI team that there are also high chances of the EVMs being replaced during the 15 days when they are kept in a strong room at the DC complex after polling, he said.

The ECI team had replied that replacing the EVMs could be easily detected during counting at which they were told that it is hard to check during the counting process in the State, he said.

Instead the BJP team suggested keeping the EVMs in a tin box which is then wrapped by a cloth and then sealed, he said.

Chaoba continued that they have also suggested deploying only para-military forces in and around the polling stations in the State as the State forces fail to check excesses of the ruling parties in the polling stations.

He said the commission members appreciated them for the suggestions and noted their points.

As for the Hiyanglam by-poll the party had received three aspirants seeking party ticket, but Maibam Dhanabir son of the late Maibam Kunjo was selected, he said.

On September 20, the party high command had met over the selection of the party candidate, during which the Prime Minister had finalised on Maibam Dhanabir among the three aspirants, he said.

The meeting was also attended by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitly among others, he said.

On the other hand, the State unit president also welcomed five political leaders into the party fold.

The five are Khousabung ADC CCpur member Thangkhomang Haokip, NCP Hiyanglam AC former general secretary U Ruhinikumar Singh, NCP Khetrigao former general secretary L Irabanta Meetei, NCP Wabagai former general secretary Md Rahimudin and NCP Thangmeiband former general secretary Roshan Meisnam.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here