Elangbam Dwijamani of Congress sworn-in as Hiyanglam MLA



IMPHAL, October 27: Newly elected MLA from Hiyanglam Assembly constituency, Elangbam Dwijamani was sworn-in today as member of the State Legislative Assembly.

Dwijamani won the Hiyanglam bye-poll held on October 17, on a Congress ticket.

In today’s swearing-in ceremony, Speaker of the Assembly, Th Lokeshwar, administered the oath of office and secrecy at the conference hall of the State Legislative Assembly secretariat, Chingmeirong Imphal.

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi, speaking to the media, on the sidelines of the ceremony, said that the State is closely monitoring the 1000 hours blockade imposed at Karbi Anglong since October 26, along the highways, which may affect the lifeline of Manipur.

He continued that in this regard, the State government had already communicated with the Central government. He added that hopefully the central government will intervene positively. The State also suffers whenever there are problems along the highway, whether it is at Nagaland or Assam, he said.

The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by the deputy Speaker, Preshow Shimray, cabinet ministers: Govinda Konthoujam, Francis Ngajokpa, Md Nasir and M Okendro; MLAs RK Anand, Y Irabot and Md Fajur Rahim etc.

It may be mentioned that the bye-poll of the Hiyanglam Assembly constituency was necessitated following the demise of the then sitting MLA Maibam Kunjo of AITC, on August 11 this year.

In the bye-poll, E Dwijamani defeated his nearest rival candidate Dr Yumnan Radheshyam of the AITC by a margin of 1820 votes.

It may also be recalled that in 2007 Assembly election, Dwijamani defeated M Kunjo by a margin of 385 votes. While in 2012 elections, Dwijamani had lost to the late MLA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here