Hiyanglam by-poll: Congress regains seat from AITC



Imphal, October 20: Congress has regained the Hiyanglam assembly constituency seat after its candidate Dr Elangbam Dwijamani defeated his nearest rival Dr Yumnam Radheshyam of the AITC by 1829 votes at the recently conducted by-election whose result was announced today. He had earlier represented the assembly constituency on a Congress ticket after winning the 9th assembly elections seven years ago.

After being elected, Dr Dwijamani told media persons at the Thoubal DC complex this morning that the result of the by-poll revealed that people have realised what kind of a leader is needed for Hiyanglam.

He further gave the credit of winning the election to the people of Hiyanglam whose love, moral and physical support made it possible for him to get the mandate in Hiyanglam.

Dr Dwijamani said his first priority as the MLA of the constituency was to complete those pending works which was initiated during his previous term.

`As a part of my development programme in the constituency, environment related programmes, sustainable development and harvesting of rain water will be taken up soon. During the next two and half years`™`™, he said, `I would take up many development projects in Hiyanglam which have never been witnessed after the country gained independence.`™`™

`People have entrusted me with the responsibility of Hiyanglam after electing me as an MLA of the Congress by coming out in large numbers with the cry that I am needed in Hiyanglam. If I have got some more time for election campaign, the margin of votes with which I won might have been bigger`, Dwijamani said.

Though BJP swept the polls in various states of India, the wave of NDA couldn`t reach Manipur. The Indian government is a quasi-federal form of government that appears unitary while maintaining a federal structure, the newly elected MLA said.

In the State`™s context, the Congress has ruled here for the last 13 years with great dedication for the people of Manipur. The result of the bye-election shows that the soil of Manipur is conducive for the Congress party, he added.

In today`™s result of the bye-poll declared at the Thoubal DC complex, Congress candidate E Dwijamani secured 9008 votes, AITC candidate Dr Yumnam Radheshyam got 7179 votes and BJP`™s Maibam Dhanabir received 6306 votes. Unfortunately, the remaining two candidates of MPP and MSCP secured only 615 and 46 votes respectively.

According to the poll statistics revealed by the returning officer of Hiyanglam, the Congress dominated several polling stations of the total 34 stations.

The victorious candidate received the winning certificate from the RO Hiyanglam this morning after the election result was declared. Congress supporters thronged both sides of the road while waiting to receive their victorious candidate.

On account of having an action packed schedule with the people of Hiyanglam, the victorious candidate failed to turn-up at a reception function organised by the Congress party at the Congress Bhawan. The function has been postponed in the morning of October 21 at around 10:30 am.

Meanwhile, MPCC president Gaikhangam said the Hiyanglam seat was won by the combined support and hard work of the Chief Minister, cabinet ministers, MLAs and Congress workers.

The Congress had work hard to manage somehow to retrieve the seat from the opposition party, he added.

He further said that without the support of the people who are the supreme authority, no government, party or organisation can survive. The secret of Congress winning the election is public support, he adds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here