Though AFSPA lifted from Imphal, the two capital districts have most troops stationed

Army within AFSPA free areas
Army within AFSPA free areas

By DNbir

IMPHAL, January 16: Manipur`™s twin capitals Imphal East and West districts, has topped the chart of being the districts with the highest number of security forces deployment excluding civil police.

According to highly reliable sources, altogether there are seven security groups operating within the districts including Army, paramilitary forces and state forces. No doubt being the capital vital Government institutes are stationed within these districts. However, the figure comes as a surprise for the Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) had been withdrawn from seven assembly segments of the two districts.

The Central Reserve Police Forces (CRPF) is stationed in 27 different places within the districts, which include CRPF-group centre, 32 Battalion CRPF, 69 Bn CRPF, 86 Bn CRPF, 109 Bn CRPF, 143 Bn CRPF, 213 Bn CRPF. Of the total, 23 are stationed in Imphal West, while the remaining four are stationed in Imphal East.

The India Reserve Battalion (IRB) has the highest number of battalions including 1st IRB Bn, 2nd Bn IRB, 3rd Bn IRB, 4th Bn IRB, 5th Bn IRB, 6th Bn IRB, 7th Bn IRB, 8th Bn IRB (CDO), 9th Bn IRB.

The Army has only two regiments operating within the Imphal West district. They are stationed in five different places including a battalion head quarter of the 12 Bihar Regiment along with three posts and a company of the 9 Dogra Regiment.

The Assam Rifles are operating in 10 places including the 9 Sector with five battalions, IGAR (S), 10 AR, 16 AR, 30 AR, 40 AR five of which are station in Imphal West and the rest in the Imphal East.

The Border Security Forces (BSF) has only one battalion, 49 battalion BSF, including a sector head quarter, CI Ops and stationed in ten places of which eight is station in Imphal East and the remaining in the West.

The Central Industrial Security Forces (CISF) is stationed in only two places of the Imphal West district including CM office and residence and Tulihal Airport.

Meanwhile, the Manipur Rifles has only three battalions including the 1st Battalion Manipur Rifles and 2nd Bn MR, 7 Bn MR.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here