State pays fitting tributes to martyrs on Kargil Vijay Diwas observation


IMPHAL, July 26: As in others part of the country, the `Kargil Vijay Diwas 2015`™ was observed at the Banquet Hall of 1st MR today in honour of the brave Indian soldiers who sacrificed their lives fighting against the Pakistani intruders in 1999.

Speaking at the observance function as chief guest, Chief Minister O Ibobi said that the Kargil Bijoy Diwas has been observed to commemorate the Operation Vijay of 1999 in which a large number of armed Pakistani intruders were flushed out by the brave Indian soldiers from its territory.

He asserted that the people are well aware why the Kargil War between India and Pakistan broke out and how India bravely won the war though many soldiers lost their lives fighting against the Pakistani intruders.

The CM recalled that seven soldiers from the state namely Lance Nike Kuleshor from Imphal East, Sipoy Charles Nicolas Moyon from Chandel, Sipoy Beningvir Moyon from Chandel, Lance Naik Birneithang from Chnadel, Sipoy Zamkholai Vaiphei from Churachandpur, Sepoy Kapani Asuli from Senapati and Sipoy Daikho Mao from Senapati were amongst the heroes who sacrificed their lives in the war.

Stating that the seven brave soldiers from the state have found their place in the history of martyrs of the country, he said that the people of the state should always remember the undeniable sacrifice made by the soldiers born in the state which is known for bravery and perseverance.

The CM called upon the people to jointly safeguard the territorial integrity of the country from any external threat.

Deputy CM Gaikhangam who presided over the function hailed the immense bravery shown by Indian soldiers in the Kargil War in which a large number of Pakistani intruders were flushed out from the Indian soil.

He acknowledged that the state of Manipur is always in the lead not only in sports, art & culture but also in safeguarding the territorial integrity.

Maintaining that the Kargil martyrs will be always remembered by the people of the country for their sacrifices for the sake of the motherland, the Dy CM called upon the people to collectively safeguard the integrity and identity of the country.

Several high ranking government officials were also present at the observance function.

BJP Manipur Pradesh also observed the Kargil Vijay Diwas at its office wherein president of the party Th Choaba and several other office bearers attended.

During the function, the dignitaries paid floral tributes to the portrait of the seven brave soldiers from the state, who laid down their lives in the war.

Speaking on the occasion, Chaoba said that the Indian soldiers fought the Pakistani intruders with courage and bravery which led to the victory in the war.

He also said that the seven state soldiers who lost their lives in the infamous war will be always remembered by the people.

The observance function was also attended by the vice-president of BJP Manipur Pradesh Dr RK Ranjan; Md AR Khan; I Mangiton; core committee member Prof S Tiken; spokesperson RK Shivachandra; president of BJP Yuva Morcha O Malesh; media general secretary L Basanta Sharma; president of Mahila Morcha RK Pramodini; general secretary organisation of Mahila Morcha L Bobby Devi and several other leaders of the party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here