Unconditional release of arrested student leaders demanded


IMPHAL, July 17: The Joint Committee on Inner Line Permit System (JCILPS) Student`s Wing has demanded immediate unconditional release of the seven students`™ leaders who were arrested by police for taking part in protests demanding enforcement of Inner Line Permit System in the state.

The arrested students` leaders are advisor of AMSU Thokchom Suresh who is also a member of JCILPS Student`s Wing; vice-president Dhanajit Kangabam; president of AMSU Bishnupur District Committee Thiyam Kabichandra; organization secretary Khangembam Shining; finance secretary in-charge Konjengbam Premkanta; joint secretary Ningthoujam Robin and member Somokanta Soram.

In a statement, the JCILPS Student`s Wing said the government is not committed to bring an effective bill which could check the rampant entry of non-locals into the state though the controversial Manipur Regulation of Visitors, Tenants and Migrant Workers Bill, 2015 has been withdrawn.

Pledging that it will continue to launch onslaught of intense agitation till the proposed new bill is passed by the government within 15 days as set by JCILPS, the students`™ wing asked non-locals staying in different parts of the state to stay inside their rooms and not to get out.

Taking strong exception to the FIR filed against the deceased student Sapam Robinhood as reported in local dailies today, it demanded befitting action against the police personnel involved in the killing of the student during a protest demonstration on July 8.

It appealed to the people especially students to extend full support to the ongoing mass movement of ILP spearheaded by JCILPS.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here